On Now
Coming Up
  • Mon., Oct. 20, 2014 4:15 PM - 4:30 PM CDT Live McCarthy press conf. Packers Head Coach Mike McCarthy will be available to the media on Monday, October 20, in the Lambeau Field media auditorium.
  • Mon., Oct. 20, 2014 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM CDT Don Barclay appearance Don Barclay is scheduled to appear at the Bellin Health Manitowoc flu shot clinic in Manitowoc, Wis., on Monday, October 20, from 5-7 p.m.
  • Tue., Oct. 21, 2014 9:30 AM - 2:30 PM CDT NFL Hometown Huddle Carl Bradford, Jayrone Elliot, Michael Hill, Datone Jones, Lane Taylor and Myles White are scheduled to appear at the 2014 NFL Hometown Huddle on Tuesday, October 21, from 9:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m., at Olen Park in Clintonville, Wis. Packers will work alongside City of Clintonville’s Parks and Recreation workers and volunteers from the United Way to build a playground.
  • Sun., Oct. 26, 2014 7:30 PM - 10:30 PM CDT Packers at New Orleans Saints Packers at New Orleans Saints
  • Tue., Oct. 28, 2014 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM CDT Jared Abbrederis appearance Jared Abbrederis is scheduled to appear at the Kaukauna Raiders Youth Football Banquet on Tuesday, October 28, from 7-9 p.m., at Van Abel’s Supper Club in Kaukauna, Wis.
  • Wed., Oct. 29, 2014 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM CDT Schroeder appearance Bill Schroeder is scheduled to appear at the Bellin Health-Wrightstown Clinic in Wrightstown, Wis., on Wednesday, Oct. 29, from 10 a.m.-noon.

News

Print
RSS

NFL statement on final play of Packers-Seahawks Game

Posted Sep 25, 2012


In Monday’s game between the Green Bay Packers and Seattle Seahawks, Seattle faced a 4th-and-10 from the Green Bay 24 with eight seconds remaining in the game.

Seattle quarterback Russell Wilson threw a pass into the end zone.  Several players, including Seattle wide receiver Golden Tate and Green Bay safety M.D. Jennings, jumped into the air in an attempt to catch the ball.

While the ball is in the air, Tate can be seen shoving Green Bay cornerback Sam Shields to the ground.  This should have been a penalty for offensive pass interference, which would have ended the game.  It was not called and is not reviewable in instant replay.

When the players hit the ground in the end zone, the officials determined that both Tate and Jennings had possession of the ball.  Under the rule for simultaneous catch, the ball belongs to Tate, the offensive player.  The result of the play was a touchdown.

Replay Official Howard Slavin stopped the game for an instant replay review.  The aspects of the play that were reviewable included if the ball hit the ground and who had possession of the ball.  In the end zone, a ruling of a simultaneous catch is reviewable.  That is not the case in the field of play, only in the end zone.

Referee Wayne Elliott determined that no indisputable visual evidence existed to overturn the call on the field, and as a result, the on-field ruling of touchdown stood.  The NFL Officiating Department reviewed the video today and supports the decision not to overturn the on-field ruling following the instant replay review.

The result of the game is final.

Applicable rules to the play are as follows

A player (or players) jumping in the air has not legally gained possession of the ball until he satisfies the elements of a catch listed here. 

Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3 of the NFL Rule Book defines a catch:

A forward pass is complete (by the offense) or intercepted (by the defense) if a player, who is inbounds:

(a) secures control of the ball in his hands or arms prior to the ball touching the ground; and

(b) touches the ground inbounds with both feet or with any part of his body other than his hands; and

(c) maintains control of the ball long enough, after (a) and (b) have been fulfilled, to enable him to perform any act common to the game (i.e., maintaining control long enough to pitch it, pass it, advance with it, or avoid or ward off an opponent, etc.).

When a player (or players) is going to the ground in the attempt to catch a pass, Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 1 states:

Player Going to the Ground. If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.

Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 5 states:

Simultaneous Catch. If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both players retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control. If the ball is muffed after simultaneous touching by two such players, all the players of the passing team become eligible to catch the loose ball.

 
blog comments powered by Disqus

You May Also Be Interested in...

Recent Videos

  • Behind the scenes: Packers take 2014 team photo

    (1:44) Posted 2 hours ago

    Green Bay Packers players, coaches and staff took to Lambeau Field to take the official 2014 season team photo.

  • Locker room scene after Packers beat Panthers

    (0:53) Posted 6 hours ago

    Watch the celebration unfold in the Green Bay Packers locker room following Sunday's victory over the Carolina Panthers at Lambeau Field, the Packers' fourth consecutive win.

  • Packers improved their quality of play

    (3:02) Posted 19 hours ago

    Hear from Green Bay Packers Head Coach Mike McCarthy, Quarterback Aaron Rodgers, Wide Receivers Davante Adams, Randall Cobb and Jordy Nelson, as well as Linebackers A.J. Hawk and Julius Peppers, and Running Back Eddie Lacy as they talk the teams 38-17 victory over the Carolina Panthers at Lambeau Field.