Packers Name Community Quarterback Award Recipients

Posted Jan 21, 2010

Packers President/CEO Mark Murphy Thanks Recipients at Recognition Dinner

The Green Bay Packers named 20 Community Quarterback Award winners Thursday and honored the recipients at a dinner in the Legends Club inside the Lambeau Field Atrium.

The recipients were recognized for their work in the community. Each Community Quarterback Award winner received a $1,000 grant for his/her non-profit group.

“These individuals are performing great work in their communities and serve as inspiring examples for everyone across Wisconsin,” said Packers President/CEO Mark Murphy. “We’re honored to recognize them today, and salute their effort and spirit, as well as the great deeds their organizations accomplish in assisting those in need.”

Funded by the Green Bay Packers and NFL Charities, the Community Quarterback Award recognizes outstanding volunteers within the state of Wisconsin. Non-profit (501(c)(3) or 509) organizations nominated outstanding volunteers who demonstrate leadership, dedication and a commitment to bettering their communities through volunteerism. The volunteers are not compensated for their services.

The winners of the 2009 Community Quarterback Awards and their affiliations are as follows:

1. Adaptive Community Approach Program Members, Waukesha – Adaptive Community Approach Program, Waukesha

2. George Liberatore, Germantown – Arthritis Foundation – Wisconsin Chapter, West Allis.

3. Mary Glassbrenner, Eau Claire – Easter Seals Wisconsin – Northwest Office, Fall Creek

4. Mary Soll, Fond du Lac – Fond du Lac County 4-H Adult Leaders Association, Fond du Lac

5. Timothy Kneeland, De Pere – Greater Green Bay YMCA, Green Bay

6. Kim Thornborrow, Shawano – Helping Elevate thru Art & Love, Inc., De Pere

7. Kathy Schumacher, Janesville – House of Mercy Homeless Center, Janesville

8. Raymond Vaughn, Rice Lake – Kinship of Rice Lake, Inc., Rice Lake

9. Rudy Gutierrez, Pewaukee – La Casa de Esperanza, Inc., Waukesha

10. Ernest Stephan, Crivitz – Marinette County Elderly Services, Crivitz

11. Ida Baumann, Green Bay – N.E.W. Curative Rehabilitation, Inc., Green Bay

12. Judy Krawczyk, Green Bay – N.E.W. Zoological Society, Inc., Green Bay

13. Gary Ziegelbauer, Green Bay – New Community Shelter, Inc., Green Bay

14. Rick Smith, Port Washington – Port Washington Historical Society, Port Washington

15. Dawn Novitski, Clintonville – Red River Riders Therapeutic Riding for the Disabled, Inc., Shawano

16. Jack Holmstedt, Pewaukee – Southeast Wisconsin Medical Reserve Corps, Waukesha

17. Vincent Nicklas, Green Bay – St. Vincent de Paul, Green Bay

18. Patrick Mickelsen, Nashotah – Turkey Club, Milwaukee

19. Barb Rigden, Racine – Volunteer Center of Racine County, Racine

20. Cindy Holland, Portage – WAGS, Inc., Madison

For more information on the Community Quarterback Award, please visit ( or contact the Packers’ community outreach department at 920/569-7323.

blog comments powered by Disqus

You May Also Be Interested in...

Recent Videos