Packers Name Community Quarterback Award Recipients

Posted Jan 22, 2009

Packers President/CEO Mark Murphy Thanks Recipients at Recognition Dinner

The Green Bay Packers named 10 Community Quarterback Award winners Thursday and honored the recipients at a dinner in the Legends Club inside the Lambeau Field Atrium.

The recipients were recognized for their work in the community. Each Community Quarterback Award winner received a $2,000 grant for his/her non-profit group.

“It’s a pleasure for the Packers to recognize these outstanding individuals,” said Packers President/CEO Mark Murphy. “They serve as tremendous examples of the spirit of volunteering and giving back to their communities. The organizations they serve provide key roles in a variety of areas in our communities, and we salute their terrific efforts.”

Funded by the Green Bay Packers and NFL Charities, the Community Quarterback Award recognizes outstanding volunteers within the state of Wisconsin. Non-profit (501(c)(3) or 509) organizations nominated outstanding volunteers who demonstrate leadership, dedication and a commitment to bettering their communities through volunteerism. The volunteers are not compensated for their services.

The winners of the 2008 Community Quarterback Awards and their affiliations are as follows:

1. Lori Beirl, De Pere – Volunteers for Altrusa International Inc., Green Bay

2. Joseph Zuniga, Mosinee – Volunteers for the Central Wisconsin Saints Hockey Association Inc., Plover

3. Victor Misurelli, Kenosha – Volunteers for Club Breakaway Inc., Kenosha

4. Rose M. Clark, Mauston – Volunteers for Juneau County Historical Society, Mauston

5. Marge Austin, Beloit – Volunteers for Kids Fun and Drama (KFAD), Beloit

6. Peg Larson, Oshkosh – Volunteers for Mercy Medical Center – Affinity Health System, Oshkosh

7. Cooks for Room at the Inn of Green Bay – Volunteers for New Community Shelter, Green Bay

8. Rick Miller, De Pere – Volunteers for Ribbon of Hope Foundation, De Pere

9. William Bornhuetter, Kenosha – Volunteers for RSVP of Kenosha County, Kenosha

10. Dean Kelly, Darien – Volunteers for Southern Lakes Association of the Deaf, Delavan

For more information on the Community Quarterback Award, please visit or contact the Packers’ community outreach department at 920/569-7323.

blog comments powered by Disqus

You May Also Be Interested in...

Recent Videos

  • Packers Life: The Iceman

    (22:30) Posted Feb 16, 2018

    In 1998, Chuck Liddell was a little-known mixed martial artist at the dawn of his UFC career. He worked security at Super Bowl XXXII, watching his favorite team on the biggest stage. For the next 12 years, he rose to the top of the UFC and became a household name. When the Packers made it to Super Bowl XLV, Chuck returned to the big game as a UFC Hall of Famer to watch his beloved team win their 13th world championship. Hear from "The Iceman" on his unparalleled journey.

  • Packers Unscripted: Free agency philosophy

    (22:15) Posted Feb 16, 2018

    Mike and Wes discuss different views of free agency, philosophically speaking, and they cast their votes for Peak Performance of the Year.

  • Back in the saddle

    (18:35) Posted Feb 15, 2018

    With 2017 in the rear-view mirror and the scouting combine on the horizon, Wes and Mike tackle the fans’ offseason questions