Morgan Burnett nominated for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Posted Nov 14, 2017

Veteran safety is Packers' selection; winner to be revealed at NFL Honors

GREEN BAY – Packers safety Morgan Burnett is the team’s nominee for the 2017 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award.

Now in his eighth year in Green Bay, Burnett is one of 32 nominees across the league for the award, which was created in 2014 in honor of the Hall of Famer and late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Art Rooney, Sr.

The award recognizes players who best demonstrate the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

Burnett has four seasons of 100-plus tackles in his career with the Packers, just missing a fifth last year (92), when he missed one game. He also has three seasons with multiple interceptions, and he has been voted a playoff captain twice by his teammates. Burnett, playing a hybrid inside linebacker role this season, has missed a handful of games in 2017 due to hamstring and groin injuries.

The winner will be determined by a vote of current NFL players. A panel of former players form the NFL Legends Community – Warrick Dunn, Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg and Leonard Wheeler – will select eight finalists, four from each conference.

Those finalists will be on the Pro Bowl ballot for the sportsmanship award when players vote on Friday, Dec. 15. The winner will be announced at the NFL Honors show on Saturday, Feb. 3, the night before Super Bowl LII.

Full Nominee List

Arizona Cardinals - CB Patrick Peterson

Atlanta Falcons - S Ricardo Allen

Baltimore Ravens - QB Joe Flacco

Buffalo Bills - LB Lorenzo Alexander

Carolina Panthers - LB Luke Kuechly

Chicago Bears - B Benny Cunningham

Cincinnati Bengals - DE Carlos Dunlap

Cleveland Browns - T Joe Thomas

Dallas Cowboys - C Travis Frederick

Denver Broncos - LB Von Miller

Detroit Lions - DT Haloti Ngata

Green Bay Packers - S Morgan Burnett

Houston Texans - P Shane Lechler

Indianapolis Colts - WR T.Y. Hilton

Jacksonville Jaguars - LB Paul Posluszny

Kansas City Chiefs - QB Alex Smith

Los Angeles Chargers - TE Antonio Gates

Los Angeles Rams - G Rodger Saffold

Miami Dolphins - G Jermon Bushrod

Minnesota Vikings - DE Brian Robison

New England Patriots - WR Matthew Slater

New Orleans Saints - QB Drew Brees

New York Giants - T Justin Pugh

New York Jets - QB Josh McCown

Oakland Raiders - QB Derek Carr

Philadelphia Eagles - TE Brent Celek

Pittsburgh Steelers - DE Cameron Heyward

San Francisco 49ers - T Joe Staley

Seattle Seahawks - DE Cliff Avril

Tampa Bay Buccaneers - DT Gerald McCoy

Tennessee Titans - QB Marcus Mariota

Washington Redskins - TE Vernon Davis

blog comments powered by Disqus

You May Also Be Interested in...

Recent Videos

  • Packers Life: The Iceman

    (22:30) Posted Feb 16, 2018

    In 1998, Chuck Liddell was a little-known mixed martial artist at the dawn of his UFC career. He worked security at Super Bowl XXXII, watching his favorite team on the biggest stage. For the next 12 years, he rose to the top of the UFC and became a household name. When the Packers made it to Super Bowl XLV, Chuck returned to the big game as a UFC Hall of Famer to watch his beloved team win their 13th world championship. Hear from "The Iceman" on his unparalleled journey.

  • Packers Unscripted: Free agency philosophy

    (22:15) Posted Feb 16, 2018

    Mike and Wes discuss different views of free agency, philosophically speaking, and they cast their votes for Peak Performance of the Year.

  • Back in the saddle

    (18:35) Posted Feb 15, 2018

    With 2017 in the rear-view mirror and the scouting combine on the horizon, Wes and Mike tackle the fans’ offseason questions