Jayrone Elliott nominated for Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year

Posted Dec 7, 2016

Winner will be announced the night before Super Bowl LI

Packers LB Jayrone Elliott has been nominated for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award, the NFL announced Wednesday. The NFL announced a nominee from each of the 32 teams.

Elliott had previously received the 2016 community service award at the annual Green Bay Area Chamber of Commerce “Welcome Back” luncheon.

Former Packers LB Sam Barrington was the team's nominee in 2015 and QB Aaron Rodgers was a finalist in 2014 when the award went to Carolina LB Thomas Davis.

Representing the best of the NFL’s commitment to philanthropy and community impact, each of these players was selected as his team’s Man of the Year and is now eligible to win the national award. The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award recognizes a player for his excellence on and off the field and is among the league’s most prestigious awards.

Three of the nominees will be selected as finalists for the award, named for Hall of Fame Chicago Bears running back, Walter Payton, who died in 1999. Finalists will be announced in January 2017.  

The winner will be announced in Houston at NFL Honors, a two-hour primetime awards special to air nationally on Feb. 4, the night before Super Bowl LI, from 7-9 p.m. CT on FOX.

“We’re proud to honor these outstanding men who represent the NFL’s best on and off the field,” said NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell. “Our players have a unique platform to make a difference far beyond the field of play. We salute these individuals who are exemplary in their commitment to making a positive impact in communities across the globe through their dedicated service and philanthropic efforts.”

For more information on the team nominees and the award, visit

Below is a list of team nominees:

Arizona Cardinals, Larry Fitzgerald
Atlanta Falcons, Matt Ryan
Baltimore Ravens, Steve Smith Sr.
Buffalo Bills, Eric Wood
Carolina Panthers, Greg Olsen
Chicago Bears, Sam Acho
Cincinnati Bengals, Andy Dalton
Cleveland Browns, Joseph Thomas
Dallas Cowboys, Sean Lee
Denver Broncos, Virgil Green
Detroit Lions, Don Carey
Green Bay Packers, Jayrone Elliott
Houston Texans, Brian Cushing
Indianapolis Colts, Joe Reitz
Jacksonville Jaguars, Julius Thomas
Kansas City Chiefs, Alex Smith
Los Angeles Rams, Johnny Hekker
Miami Dolphins, Mike Pouncey
Minnesota Vikings, Chad Greenway
New England Patriots, Rob Gronkowski
New Orleans Saints, Roman Harper
New York Giants, Eli Manning
New York Jets, Brandon Marshall
Oakland Raiders, Dan Williams
Philadelphia Eagles, Jon Dorenbos
Pittsburgh Steelers, Arthur Moats
San Diego Chargers, Jeremiah Attaochu
San Francisco 49ers, Torrey Smith    
Seattle Seahawks, Cliff Avril
Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Vincent Jackson
Tennessee Titans, Jurrell Casey
Washington Redskins, Pierre Garçon

blog comments powered by Disqus

You May Also Be Interested in...

Recent Videos

  • Brett Hundley goes racing

    (1:24) Posted 16 hours ago

    Packers QB Brett Hundley was invited to Road America where he met driver Will Power, took a two-seater ride with racing legend Mario Andretti, and threw a football through the window of a moving car.

  • Packers host Titletown District tour

    (2:25) Posted Jun 27, 2017

    The Packers hosted a tour to provide an update on the Titletown District construction west of Lambeau Field, which will include a tubing hill, skating rink and other park areas.

  • A look at Aaron Rodgers' 2016 season

    (0:46) Posted Jun 26, 2017

    Congratulations to QB Aaron Rodgers for ranking 6th on the NFL "Top 100 Players of 2017"