On Now
Coming Up
  • Sun., Sep. 21, 2014 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM CDT Packers at Detroit Lions Packers at Detroit Lions
  • Mon., Sep. 22, 2014 4:00 PM - 4:15 PM CDT Live McCarthy press conf. Packers Head Coach Mike McCarthy will be available to the media on Monday, September 22, in the Lambeau Field media auditorium.
  • Tue., Sep. 23, 2014 9:00 AM - 11:00 AM CDT Humana playground build (morning session)

    Scheduled to appear: Andrew Quarless and Casey Hayward

  • Tue., Sep. 23, 2014 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM CDT Humana playground build (afternoon session) Scheduled to appear: Datone Jones and Micah Hyde
  • Sat., Sep. 27, 2014 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM CDT Packers Everywhere pep rally (Chicago)

    Packers fans 21 years and older are invited to bring the spirit of Green Bay to Chicago a day early with a free Packers Everywhere Pep Rally. Packers President/CEO Mark Murphy will take part in the pre-gameday excitement by greeting fans and participating in a Q-and-A session with Wayne Larrivee, the radio voice of the Packers. Packers alumni Mark Chmura and Don Beebe will also be at the rally to socialize with fans, sign autographs and discuss their thoughts on the next day’s game against the Bears. A round-table discussion with Packers.com writers Vic Ketchman, Mike Spofford and the audience will conclude the event.

  • Sun., Sep. 28, 2014 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM CDT Packers at Chicago Bears Packers at Chicago Bears

News

Vic Ketchman

Vic Ketchman is a veteran of 40 NFL seasons and has covered the Steelers and Jaguars prior to coming to Green Bay.

Print
RSS

Lots of 'night moves' in 2011 training camp

Posted Jul 29, 2011

The first 11 formal practices of the Packers’ 2011 training camp, including “Family Night,” will be conducted exclusively in the evening. Beginning on Saturday, July 30, the Packers will open camp with a 7 p.m. practice at Ray Nitschke Field.

On Friday, Aug. 12, the practice regimen changes temporarily. The Packers will shift to a 1 p.m. practice in helmets, followed by three consecutive 7 p.m. practices in full pads, followed by another 1 p.m. practice in helmets on Thursday, Aug. 18.

On Monday, Aug. 22, practice moves to the morning for the remainder of camp.

The training camp practice schedule was announced on Friday by the Packers. The itinerary shows the Packers will be in full pads for 16 of their 22 practices, including “Family Night.”  They will be in shells for the first two practices of training camp. The NFL has mandated that teams’ first practice of camp not be conducted in pads.

Night practices are a leaguewide theme this summer, as teams adopt NFL guidelines for promoting player safety. The intent of a steady regimen of night practices is to take players out of the heat of the day and to afford a 24-hour recovery period.

On Saturday, Aug. 6, at 6:30 p.m., the Packers will host “Family Night” at Lambeau Field. In past years, the word “scrimmage” has been used to describe the event. The format will change this year, due to the four-and-a-half-month lockout.

For a printable PDF of the full schedule, click here.


Date

Practice Time(s)

Saturday, July 30

7:00 P.M. - SHELLS

Sunday, July 31

7:00 P.M. - SHELLS

Monday, August 1

7:00 P.M. - FULL PADS

Tuesday, August 2

NO PRACTICE

Wednesday, August 3

7:00 P.M. - FULL PADS

Thursday, August 4

7:00 P.M. - FULL PADS

Friday, August 5

7:00 P.M. - FULL PADS

Saturday, August 6

6:30 P.M. - FULL PADS
FAMILY NIGHT

Sunday, August 7

NO PRACTICE

Monday, August 8

7:00 P.M. - FULL PADS

Tuesday, August 9

7:00 P.M. - FULL PADS

Wednesday, August 10

7:00 P.M. - FULL PADS

Thursday, August 11

7:00 P.M. - FULL PADS

Friday, August 12

1:00 P.M. - HELMETS

Saturday, August 13

PRESEASON GAME at CLEVELAND BROWNS - 6:30 P.M. CDT

Sunday, August 14

NO PRACTICE

Monday, August 15

7:00 P.M. - FULL PADS

Tuesday, August 16

7:00 P.M. - FULL PADS

Wednesday, August 17

7:00 P.M. - FULL PADS

Thursday, August 18

1:00 P.M. - HELMETS

Friday, August 19

PRESEASON GAME vs. ARIZONA CARDINALS - 7:00 P.M. CDT

Saturday, August 20

NO PRACTICE

Sunday, August 21

NO PRACTICE

Monday, August 22

10:45 A.M. - FULL PADS

Tuesday, August 23

10:45 A.M. - FULL PADS

Wednesday, August 24

10:30 A.M. - HELMETS

Thursday, August 25

NO PRACTICE

Friday, August 26

PRESEASON GAME at INDIANAPOLIS COLTS - 7:00 P.M. CDT

Saturday, August 27

NO PRACTICE

Sunday, August 28

10:45 A.M. - FULL PADS

Monday, August 29

10:45 A.M. - FULL PADS

Tuesday, August 30

10:30 A.M. - HELMETS

Wednesday, August 31

NO PRACTICE

Thursday, September 1

PRESEASON GAME vs. KANSAS CITY CHIEFS - 7:00 P.M. CDT

Recent Articles

 
blog comments powered by Disqus