On Now
Coming Up
  • Sat., Jun. 20, 2015 12:00 PM CDT Kenny Chesney/Jason Aldean concert Jason Aldean and Kenny Chesney have announced that their tours, The Burn It Down Tour and The Big Revival Tour presented by Corona Light, will collide for 10 stadium shows next summer, including Lambeau Field on Saturday, June 20, 2015.  More on-sale information and special guests will be revealed over the coming weeks.
  • Mon., Jul. 13, 2015 7:00 AM CDT Packers Hall of Fame Inc. Golf Classic

    The Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame Inc. Golf Classic is set for Monday, July 13, 2015, at The Bull in Sheboygan Falls, WI. Those interested in participating in the event can contact Holly Borga (920-965-6986; hollyb@packershalloffame.com) for more information.

  • Sat., Jul. 18, 2015 7:00 PM CDT Brett Favre's Packers HOF Induction Banquet

    The Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame Inc. will induct former Packers quarterback Brett Favre at the 45th Annual Hall of Fame Induction Banquet. The event will also feature the retirement of Favre’s No. 4. This dual recognition is an honor that is unprecedented in Green Bay Packers history. The banquet will be held on Saturday, July 18, 2015, in the Lambeau Field Atrium.


Vic Ketchman

Vic Ketchman is a veteran of 40 NFL seasons and has covered the Steelers and Jaguars prior to coming to Green Bay.


Packers roster heavy at tight end

Posted Sep 3, 2011

Based on the 53-man roster the Packers announced on Saturday, it would appear tight ends will fit prominently into the team’s offense.

The Packers kept five tight ends on the 53-man roster they turned into the league on Saturday. Those tight ends include two rookies: fifth-round draft pick D.J. Williams and seventh-round pick Ryan Taylor.

Twenty-three players were released, two were traded and two were assigned to the injured reserve list.

Released are: WR Diondre Borel, S Anthony Bratton, T Chris Campbell, T/G Ray Dominguez, NT Chris Donaldson, LB Ricky Elmore, C Sampson Genus, CB Josh Gordy, WR Tori Gurley, QB Graham Harrell, FB Jon Hoese, LB Cardia Jackson, DE Eli Joseph, LB Elijah Joseph, S Anthony Levine, C/G Nick McDonald, RB Dimitri Nance, CB Brandian Ross, NT Jay Ross, RB Brandon Saine, WR Kerry Taylor, S/CB Brandon Underwood and WR Chastin West.

FB Quinn Johnson and rookie G Caleb Schlauderaff, a sixth-round draft choice, were traded, and rookies DE Lawrence Guy and WR Shaky Smithson were placed on injured reserve.

Johnson was traded to the Tennessee Titans for an undisclosed draft choice. A fifth-round draft selection by the Packers in 2009 out of LSU, he appeared in 20 games with four starts during his two seasons in Green Bay.

Schlauderaff was traded to the New York Jets for an undisclosed draft choice.

The roster reduction left the Packers with five wide receivers: holdovers Greg Jennings, Jordy Nelson, Donald Driver, James Jones and rookie second-round pick Randall Cobb.

It’s most interesting that three undrafted players – LBs Vic So’oto and Jamari Lattimore and S M.D. Jennings – were impressive enough to make the roster of a reigning Super Bowl champion.

The release of Harrell leaves the Packers with only two quarterbacks. Harrell spent most of last season on the team’s practice squad.

Having kept only six defensive linemen would suggest DE Mike Neal’s injured knee will not keep him out of action for long.

The Packers kept only four running backs: James Starks, Ryan Grant, rookie Alex Green and FB John Kuhn.

It’s mildly surprising the Packers will begin the season with only eight offensive linemen, the fewest offensive linemen on the roster in Mike McCarthy’s time as the team’s head coach. Second-year C/G Evan Dietrich-Smith won out over McDonald.

Recent Articles

blog comments powered by Disqus