Skip to main content

Jayrone Elliott nominated for Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year

Winner will be announced the night before Super Bowl LI


Packers LB Jayrone Elliott has been nominated for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award, the NFL announced Wednesday. The NFL announced a nominee from each of the 32 teams.

Elliott had previously received the **2016 community service award** at the annual Green Bay Area Chamber of Commerce "Welcome Back" luncheon.

Former Packers LB **Sam Barrington was the team's nominee** in 2015 and QB [Aaron Rodgersinternal-link-placeholder-1] was a finalist in 2014 when the award went to Carolina LB Thomas Davis.

Representing the best of the NFL's commitment to philanthropy and community impact, each of these players was selected as his team's Man of the Year and is now eligible to win the national award. The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award recognizes a player for his excellence on and off the field and is among the league's most prestigious awards.

Packers LB Jayrone Elliott has been nominated for Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year. Here are some highlights from his work in the community.

Three of the nominees will be selected as finalists for the award, named for Hall of Fame Chicago Bears running back, Walter Payton, who died in 1999. Finalists will be announced in January 2017.  

The winner will be announced in Houston at NFL Honors, a two-hour primetime awards special to air nationally on Feb. 4, the night before Super Bowl LI, from 7-9 p.m. CT on FOX.

"We're proud to honor these outstanding men who represent the NFL's best on and off the field," said NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell. "Our players have a unique platform to make a difference far beyond the field of play. We salute these individuals who are exemplary in their commitment to making a positive impact in communities across the globe through their dedicated service and philanthropic efforts."

For more information on the team nominees and the award, visit

Below is a list of team nominees:

Arizona Cardinals, Larry Fitzgerald
Atlanta Falcons, Matt Ryan
Baltimore Ravens, Steve Smith Sr.
Buffalo Bills, Eric Wood
Carolina Panthers, Greg Olsen
Chicago Bears, Sam Acho
Cincinnati Bengals, Andy Dalton
Cleveland Browns, Joseph Thomas
Dallas Cowboys, Sean Lee
Denver Broncos, Virgil Green
Detroit Lions, Don Carey
Green Bay Packers, Jayrone Elliott
Houston Texans, Brian Cushing
Indianapolis Colts, Joe Reitz
Jacksonville Jaguars, Julius Thomas
Kansas City Chiefs, Alex Smith
Los Angeles Rams, Johnny Hekker
Miami Dolphins, Mike Pouncey
Minnesota Vikings, Chad Greenway
New England Patriots, Rob Gronkowski
New Orleans Saints, Roman Harper
New York Giants, Eli Manning
New York Jets, Brandon Marshall
Oakland Raiders, Dan Williams
Philadelphia Eagles, Jon Dorenbos
Pittsburgh Steelers, Arthur Moats
San Diego Chargers, Jeremiah Attaochu
San Francisco 49ers, Torrey Smith    
Seattle Seahawks, Cliff Avril
Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Vincent Jackson
Tennessee Titans, Jurrell Casey
Washington Redskins, Pierre Garçon

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.