Skip to main content

Packers roster heavy at tight end


Based on the 53-man roster the Packers announced on Saturday, it would appear tight ends will fit prominently into the team's offense.

The Packers kept five tight ends on the 53-man roster they turned into the league on Saturday. Those tight ends include two rookies: fifth-round draft pick D.J. Williams and seventh-round pick Ryan Taylor.

Twenty-three players were released, two were traded and two were assigned to the injured reserve list.

Released are: WR Diondre Borel, S Anthony Bratton, T Chris Campbell, T/G Ray Dominguez, NT Chris Donaldson, LB Ricky Elmore, C Sampson Genus, CB Josh Gordy, WR Tori Gurley, QB Graham Harrell, FB Jon Hoese, LB Cardia Jackson, DE Eli Joseph, LB Elijah Joseph, S Anthony Levine, C/G Nick McDonald, RB Dimitri Nance, CB Brandian Ross, NT Jay Ross, RB Brandon Saine, WR Kerry Taylor, S/CB Brandon Underwood and WR Chastin West.

FB Quinn Johnson and rookie G Caleb Schlauderaff, a sixth-round draft choice, were traded, and rookies DE Lawrence Guy and WR Shaky Smithson were placed on injured reserve.

Johnson was traded to the Tennessee Titans for an undisclosed draft choice. A fifth-round draft selection by the Packers in 2009 out of LSU, he appeared in 20 games with four starts during his two seasons in Green Bay.

Schlauderaff was traded to the New York Jets for an undisclosed draft choice.

The roster reduction left the Packers with five wide receivers: holdovers Greg Jennings, Jordy Nelson, Donald Driver, James Jones and rookie second-round pick Randall Cobb.

It's most interesting that three undrafted players – LBs Vic So'oto and Jamari Lattimore and S M.D. Jennings – were impressive enough to make the roster of a reigning Super Bowl champion.

The release of Harrell leaves the Packers with only two quarterbacks. Harrell spent most of last season on the team's practice squad.

Having kept only six defensive linemen would suggest DE Mike Neal's injured knee will not keep him out of action for long.

The Packers kept only four running backs: James Starks, Ryan Grant, rookie Alex Green and FB John Kuhn.

It's mildly surprising the Packers will begin the season with only eight offensive linemen, the fewest offensive linemen on the roster in Mike McCarthy's time as the team's head coach. Second-year C/G Evan Dietrich-Smith won out over McDonald.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content