Skip to main content

Packers Sign Eight To Future Contracts


The Green Bay Packers have signed wide receiver Carlton Brewster, linebacker Spencer Havner, offensive lineman Travis Leffew, safety Alvin Nnabuife, wide receiver Calvin Russell, guard Adam Stenavich, tackle Orrin Thompson and cornerback Tramon Williams to reserve/future contracts. The signings were announced Tuesday by Executive Vice President, General Manager and Director of Football Operations Ted Thompson.

All eight players concluded the 2006 season on the Packers' practice squad, and all but Thompson, who was a first-year player, were rookies in 2006.

Brewster and Russell were with the Packers in 2006 training camp. Brewster joined the club in an Aug. 22 trade from Cleveland, then spent the season's final 11 weeks on the practice squad. Russell, on the practice squad for all 17 regular-season weeks, originally signed as a non-drafted free agent.

Leffew had two stints on the practice squad, sandwiched around a stretch on the 53-man roster of the Dallas Cowboys, who signed him Nov. 21.

Nnabuife (pronounced nah-BOO-fee), Havner (HEY-vner), Stenavich, Thompson and Williams (trah-MAHN) all signed to the practice squad during the regular season.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.