Skip to main content

Peppers nominated for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Winner to be determined by vote of current NFL players


Packers LB Julius Peppers is one of 32 player nominees for the third annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award. Each NFL team nominated one of its players for the award, which recognizes players around the league who demonstrate outstanding sportsmanship on the field.

Created in 2014, the award honors the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Art Rooney, Sr.

A panel of former players Warrick Dunn, Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg and Leonard Wheeler are charged with selecting eight finalists from the 32 nominees. The final eight will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot when players vote in mid-December. Each team will then submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner.

The winner will be announced during the NFL Honors show on Feb. 4 and will receive a trophy and a$25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice.

Charles Woodson (Oakland Raiders) received the honor in 2015 and Larry Fitzgerald (Arizona Cardinals) was the inaugural winner in 2014.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content