Skip to main content

Prominent former Packers on Hall of Fame's preliminary list of nominees

Butler, Collins, Driver, Longwell among modern-era candidates for 2020

Packers Hall of Famer LeRoy Butler
Packers Hall of Famer LeRoy Butler

GREEN BAY – Several former Packers are among the 122 modern-era nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2020.

Defensive backs LeRoy Butler and Nick Collins, receiver Donald Driver and kicker Ryan Longwell are among the former Packers with their names in the team record book who are in the eligible group.

Offensive lineman Jeff Saturday, tight ends Keith Jackson and Wesley Walls, linebacker Seth Joyner, running back/returner Eric Metcalf, and punter Sean Landeta are other former Packers who spent the majority of their careers with other teams who are also on the list.

The full group of nominees will be whittled down to 25 semifinalists in November and then 15 finalists in January, from which a maximum-sized class of five could be chosen for enshrinement in August of 2020. The Hall's selection committee will cast its final votes on the day before Super Bowl LIV.

Butler has reached the semifinalist stage in the past, the furthest any of the former Packers mentioned has advanced.

The Hall of Fame is celebrating the NFL's Centennial Season with a special 20-member induction class in 2020, but it will still include only five modern-era nominees. Ten senior nominees, three contributors and two coaches will make up the rest of the special class.

The list of modern-era nominees includes eight players who were finalists in 2019 but ultimately not selected: running back Edgerrin James, wide receiver Isaac Bruce, offensive linemen Tony Boselli, Alan Faneca and Steve Hutchinson, defensive lineman Richard Seymour, and defensive backs Steve Atwater and John Lynch.

It also includes several candidates in their first year of eligibility, including safety Troy Polamalu, wide receiver Reggie Wayne and linebacker Patrick Willis.