Skip to main content

Three Packers named to Super Bowl 50 Golden Team

Forrest Gregg, Reggie White and Desmond Howard make select list


Three former Packers were named to the NFL's "Super Bowl 50 Golden Team," as chosen by the Pro Football Hall of Fame Board of Selectors.

Offensive tackle Forrest Gregg, defensive end Reggie White and return specialist Desmond Howard were among the 25 players chosen. Gregg and White are in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Gregg was the starting right tackle on the Packers' Super Bowl I and II winning teams. He was famously referred to by coach Vince Lombardi as "the finest player I ever coached," and he was a big reason the Packers rushed for 293 yards combined in their two Super Bowl victories.

White recorded a Super Bowl-record three sacks of Patriots QB Drew Bledsoe in the Packers' 35-21 victory in Super Bowl XXXI, including two on back-to-back plays. His record of three was tied by Arizona's Darnell Dockett against Pittsburgh in Super Bowl XLIII.

White added a fourth Super Bowl sack in Green Bay's loss to Denver the following year, and his four sacks overall are tied for second in the record book, behind only the 4 1/2 by Charles Haley, who played in five Super Bowls with the 49ers and Cowboys. Haley was the other defensive end chosen for the golden team.

Howard was named MVP of Super Bowl XXXI and remains the only special-teams player to be voted MVP. He totaled 244 return yards against New England, with two punt runbacks of 32 and 34 yards, and a 99-yard kickoff return for a touchdown. His score, late in the third quarter, came right after the Patriots had closed within 27-21, and it was followed by White's back-to-back sacks on New England's next possession.

Super Bowl 50 Golden Team


QB: Joe Montana
RB: Franco Harris, Emmitt Smith
WR: Jerry Rice, Lynn Swann
TE: Jay Novacek
T: Art Shell, Forrest Gregg
G: Gene Upshaw, Larry Allen
C: Mike Webster


DE: Reggie White, Charles Haley
DT: Joe Greene, Randy White
OLB: Lawrence Taylor, Jack Ham
ILB: Jake Lambert, Ray Lewis
CB: Mel Blount, Deion Sanders
S: Ronnie Lott, Jake Scott


K: Adam Vinatieri
P: Ray Guy
PR/KR: Desmond Howard

Coach: Chuck Noll

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content