Skip to main content

Three Packers selected to the Pro Bowl

LB Clay Matthews, QB Aaron Rodgers, G Josh Sitton are repeat picks for annual all-star game


Represented by three members of the team, the Green Bay Packers learned Tuesday that linebacker Clay Matthews, quarterback Aaron Rodgersand guard Josh Sitton were named to the Pro Bowl by the National Football League.

Matthews earns the sixth selection in his seven-year career (2009-12, 2014), and his first at inside linebacker. He has two more selections than any Packers linebacker and is tied with DE Reggie White for the second-most selections by a defensive player in team history, trailing only S Willie Wood (eight). Matthews is part of a defense that has allowed just 18.9 points per game, No. 5 in the NFL this season and the fewest for a Packers defense since allowing 15.0 per game in 2010. Matthews is tied for the team lead in quarterback hits (13) and ranks No. 2 in tackles (81) and sacks (5.5).

For Rodgers, it marks the fifth Pro Bowl selection of his career (2009, 2011, 2012, 2014). He passes Bart Starr (1960-62, 1966) for the second-most selections by a Green Bay quarterback, trailing Brett Favre's nine (1992-93, 1995-97, 2001-03, 2007). Rodgers ranks No. 2 in the NFL this season in touchdown/interception ratio (4.83), and is No. 3 in interception percentage (1.2) and 25-plus-yard completions (34). He has also thrown multiple touchdowns in 10 games, tied for No. 3 in the NFL.

Sitton earns his third career Pro Bowl honor (2012, 2014) and his second straight as an original selection. He is the first Green Bay guard to be named to consecutive Pro Bowls since Marco Rivera was selected to three straight from 2002-04. Sitton has been part of an offensive line that has cleared the way for a rushing attack to average 119.5 yards per game (No. 9 in the NFL) and register 120-plus rushing yards in eight games this season (tied for No. 4 in the league). Sitton is also part of a Packers team that has scored 27 or more points nine times this season (tied for third most in the NFL).

Fullback John Kuhn was named first alternate.

Other alternates include WR Randall Cobb, DT Mike Daniels, WR James Jones, RB Eddie Lacy, G T.J. Lang, LB Julius Peppers and CB Sam Shields.

Packers QB Aaron Rodgers, LB Clay Matthews and G Josh Sitton have been selected to the Pro Bowl. Take a look at their 2015 seasons thus far.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.