Skip to main content

Woodson, Collins Named Second-Team All-Pro


Cornerback Charles Woodson and safety Nick Collins, the Packers' two Pro Bowl starters, have received second-team All-Pro recognition from The Associated Press.

This marks the first time since 1967 that two Packers from the secondary have been recognized on the AP All-Pro team. That year, safety Willie Wood was a first-team pick and cornerback Herb Adderley was a second-teamer.

The AP voting for All-Pro was released on Friday. Woodson finished third at cornerback behind first-team selections Nnamdi Asomugha of Oakland and Cortland Finnegan of Tennessee, while Collins finished tied for fourth at safety behind first-teamers Ed Reed of Baltimore and Troy Polamalu of Pittsburgh and fellow second-teamer Adrian Wilson of Arizona. Philadelphia's Quintin Mikell tied with Collins for the other second-team spot.

Woodson and Collins finished tied for the team and NFC lead with seven interceptions apiece in 2008. That total was second only to Reed's nine in the league. The duo combined for five touchdowns on interception returns. Collins posted a league-high three, while Woodson had a career-best two.

The Associated Press 2008 NFL All-Pro teams:



QB: Peyton Manning, Indianapolis

RB: Adrian Peterson, Minnesota; Michael Turner, Atlanta

FB: Le'Ron McClain, Baltimore

TE: Tony Gonzalez, Kansas City

WR: Andre Johnson, Houston; Larry Fitzgerald, Arizona

T: Jordan Gross, Carolina; Michael Roos, Tennessee

G: Steve Hutchinson, Minnesota; Chris Snee, N.Y. Giants

C: Kevin Mawae, Tennessee

K: Stephen Gostkowski, New England

KR: Leon Washington, N.Y. Jets


E: Justin Tuck, N.Y. Giants; Jared Allen, Minnesota

T: Albert Haynesworth, Tennessee; Kevin Williams, Minnesota

OLB: DeMarcus Ware, Dallas; James Harrison, Pittsburgh

ILB: Ray Lewis, Baltimore; Jon Beason, Carolina

CB: Nnamdi Asomugha, Oakland; Cortland Finnegan, Tennessee

S: Ed Reed, Baltimore; Troy Polamalu, Pittsburgh

P: Shane Lechler, Oakland



QB: Drew Brees, New Orleans

RB: DeAngelo Williams, Carolina; Clinton Portis, Washington

FB: Madison Hedgecock, N.Y. Giants

TE: Jason Witten, Dallas

WR: Steve Smith, Carolina; Wes Welker, New England

T: Ryan Clady, Denver; (tie) David Stewart, Tennessee; Walter Jones, Seattle; Jason Peters, Buffalo; David Diehl, N.Y. Giants; Joe Thomas, Cleveland

G: Kris Dielman, San Diego; Alan Faneca, N.Y. Jets

C: Shaun O'Hara, N.Y. Giants

K: John Carney, N.Y. Giants

KR: Clifton Smith, Tampa Bay


E: Julius Peppers, Carolina; John Abraham, Atlanta

T: Kris Jenkins, N.Y. Jets; Haloti Ngata, Baltimore

OLB: Joey Porter, Miami; Terrell Suggs, Baltimore

ILB: Patrick Willis, San Francisco; James Farrior, Pittsburgh

CB: Charles Woodson, Green Bay;Antoine Winfield, Minnesota

S: Adrian Wilson, Arizona; (tie) Quintin Mikell, Philadelphia; Nick Collins, Green Bay

P: Donnie Jones, St. Louis

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.