Skip to main content

Aaron Kampman Among Finalists For 2003 Walter Payton Man Of The Year Award


Packers defensive end Aaron Kampman is among thirty-two NFL players vying for the 2003 title of Walter Payton Man of the Year, the only league award that recognizes player off-the-field community service as well as playing excellence.

This year's finalists -- one player from each NFL team -- have demonstrated an outstanding balance in their lives between civic and professional responsibilities.

The winner will be announced January 30 during NFL Commissioner Paul Tagliabue's annual news conference prior to Super Bowl XXXVIII in Houston, Texas.

The prestigious award was renamed in 1999 for the legendary Chicago Bears Pro Football Hall of Fame running back. The Walter Payton Man of the Year Award has been given annually since 1970.

Wide receiver Donald Driver represented the Packers as the 2002 finalist.

The winner is selected by an elite panel of judges including Commissioner Tagliabue, Sports Illustrated writer Peter King, Connie Payton (wife of the late Walter Payton), and former players Frank Gifford, Jack Kemp, John Mackey, and last year's award winner, Philadelphia Eagles cornerback Troy Vincent.

The winner will receive $25,000 to donate to his selected charity. Each finalist will receive a $1,000 contribution towards a charity of his choice.


Arizona Cardinals, LeVar Woods, LB

Atlanta Falcons, Warrick Dunn, RB

Baltimore Ravens, Ray Lewis, LB

Buffalo Bills, Brian Moorman, P

Carolina Panthers, Mike Rucker, DE

Chicago Bears, Phillip Daniels, DE

Cincinnati Bengals, Tony Stewart, TE

Cleveland Browns, Kelly Holcomb, QB

Dallas Cowboys, Darren Woodson, S

Denver Broncos, Ian Gold, LB

Detroit Lions, Robert Porcher, DE

Green Bay Packers, Aaron Kampman, DE

Houston Texans, Jamie Sharper, LB

Indianapolis Colts, David Thornton, LB

Jacksonville Jaguars, Akin Ayodele, LB

Kansas City Chiefs, Will Shields, G

Miami Dolphins, Shawn Wooden, S

Minnesota Vikings, Matt Birk, C

New England Patriots, Joe Andruzzi, G

New Orleans Saints, Michael Lewis, WR-KR

New York Giants, Amani Toomer, WR

New York Jets, Marvin Jones, LB

Oakland Raiders, Akbar Gbaja-Biamila, DE

Philadelphia Eagles, Donovan McNabb, QB

Pittsburgh Steelers, Dewayne Washington, CB

St. Louis Rams, Grant Wistrom, DE

San Diego Chargers, Donnie Edwards, LB

San Francisco 49ers, Terrell Owens, WR

Seattle Seahawks, Matt Hasselbeck, QB

Tampa Bay Buccaneers, John Lynch, S

Tennessee Titans, Kevin Carter, DE

Washington Redskins, Darnerien McCants, WR

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content