Brett Favre Leads Pro Bowl Charge With Four Weeks Of Voting Remaining

Green Bay Packers quarterback Brett Favre, with 458,837 votes, leads all NFL All-Stars in balloting for the 2008 Pro Bowl, announced Thursday. - More | Vote Now! McCarthy Named Coach Of The Week Favre, Grant Named FedEx Air & Ground Players Of The Week



Green Bay Packers quarterback BRETT FAVRE, with 458,837 votes, leads all NFL All-Stars in balloting for the 2008 Pro Bowl, announced Thursday. 2008 Pro Bowl voting will continue on and on wireless phones with Sprint service through Tuesday, December 11.

There have been 35 million votes cast on and on wireless phones with Sprint service using more than 873,000 ballots.

Indianapolis Colts quarterback PEYTON MANNING (441,852 votes) ranks second overall while, New England Patriots quarterback TOM BRADY (440,354 votes), New England Patriots wide receiver RANDY MOSS (342,250 votes) and Dallas Cowboys quarterback TONY ROMO (319,959 votes) round out the top five on TONY ROMO received the highest number of votes from voters using Sprint's service.

The teams will be announced at 4 p.m. (ET) Tuesday, December 18 on a special NFL Total Access 2008 NFL Pro Bowl Selection Show on NFL Network. The Pro Bowl will be played at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii on Sunday, February 10 and will be televised by FOX.

In addition to casting ballots on, fans can cast their Pro Bowl ballot by sending the text message "PRO" to 7777 from a phone with Sprint wireless service to vote for their favorite players at select positions. Standard text messaging and data rates apply.

Fans who vote for their Pro Bowl players will then be able to enter for a chance to win a trip to Hawaii to attend the NFL Pro Bowl in the 2008 NFL Pro Bowl Sweepstakes sponsored by Sprint. The Grand Prize includes an all-expense paid 5-day, 4-night trip for the winner and one guest to the 2008 NFL Pro Bowl in Honolulu. In addition to air transportation, ground transportation, hotel accommodations and two game tickets, the winner and guests will experience an insider tour of the sidelines and locker room at Aloha Stadium. There is no purchase necessary to enter or win. See for details and official rules.

The AFC and NFC All-Star squads are made up of the consensus votes of fans, players and coaches. Each group's vote counts one-third towards determining the 43-man rosters that represent the American Football Conference and National Football Conference in the Pro Bowl. NFL players and coaches will cast their votes December 13-14.

The NFL is the only sports league that combines voting by fans, coaches and players to determine its all-star teams. It was the first professional sports league to offer online all-star voting in 1995.

Listed below are the top 10 overall All-Star vote-getters and the players with the most votes at each position through November 13:


QB Brett Favre -- 458,837

QB Peyton Manning -- 441,852

QB Tom Brady -- 440,354

WR Randy Moss -- 342,250

QB Tony Romo -- 319,959

RB Adrian Peterson -- 317,388

RB Joseph Addai -- 297,504

RB LaDainian Tomlinson -- 261,259

WR Terrell Owens -- 255,490

KR Devin Hester -- 249,212




QB Brett Favre, Packers -- 458,837

RB Adrian Peterson, Vikings -- 317,388

FB Tony Richardson, Vikings -- 79,499

WR Terrell Owens, Cowboys -- 255,490

TE Jason Witten, Cowboys -- 238,598

T Flozell Adams, Cowboys -- 138,986

G Leonard Davis, Cowboys -- 124,316

C Andre Gurode, Cowboys -- 121,462

K Nick Folk, Cowboys -- 107,372

KR Devin Hester, Bears -- 249,212


DE Osi Umenyiora, Giants -- 166,529

IL Tommie Harris, Bears -- 96,227

OLB DeMarcus Ware, Cowboys -- 151,589

ILB Nick Barnett, Packers -- 96,140

CB Charles Woodson, Packers -- 137,925

SS Roy Williams, Cowboys -- 108,450

FS Sean Taylor, Redskins -- 93,639

P Mat McBriar, Cowboys -- 85,609

ST Keith Davis, Cowboys -- 70,490




QB Peyton Manning, Colts -- 441,852

RB Joseph Addai, Colts -- 297,504

FB Lorenzo Neal, Chargers -- 194,880

WR Randy Moss, Patriots -- 342,250

TE Antonio Gates, Chargers -- 199,593

T Matt Light, Patriots -- 179,054

G Eric Steinbach, Browns -- 188,052

C Jeff Saturday, Colts -- 168,502

K Adam Vinatieri, Colts -- 82,922

KR Wes Welker, Patriots -- 69,590


DE Dwight Freeney, Colts -- 209,272

IL Vince Wilfork, Patriots -- 100,032

OLB Shawne Merriman, Chargers -- 148,287

ILB Tedy Bruschi, Patriots -- 121,099

CB Champ Bailey, Broncos -- 183,109

SS Troy Polamalu, Steelers -- 134,868

FS Ed Reed, Ravens -- 110, 412

P Chris Hanson, Patriots -- 52,131

ST Larry Izzo, Patriots -- 105,147

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content