Skip to main content

Brett Favre named Hall of Fame semifinalist

Former Packers QB up for induction in Canton for first time


To no one's surprise, former Packers QB Brett Favre has made the cut to the semifinalist stage for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2016. Favre is one of 25 modern-era semifinalists in the running for induction next summer.

This is the first year Favre is eligible for the Hall of Fame. It's almost hard to fathom him not being selected for the 2016 class, having retired five years ago with virtually ever major passing record, plus three MVP awards and a Super Bowl title.

In January, the 25 semifinalists will be whittled down to 15 finalists, and then their credentials will be debated in the annual meeting of the Hall of Fame selection committee on the weekend before the Super Bowl. Two senior committee candidates and one contributor finalist will also be considered, and the entire class of 2016 will be announced the night before Super Bowl 50.

Of the 15 modern-era finalists, no more than five can be selected for induction in any given year. The senior and contributor candidates are considered separately. Here is the full list of candidates:

Modern-era semifinalists (25)

QB - Brett Favre, Kurt Warner

RB - Roger Craig, Terrell Davis, Edgerrin James

WR - Isaac Bruce, Marvin Harrison, Torry Holt, Terrell Owens

OL - Tony Boselli, Alan Faneca, Joe Jacoby, Mike Kenn, Kevin Mawae, Orlando Pace

LB - Kevin Greene, Karl Mecklenburg, Sam Mills

DB - Steve Atwater, Ty Law, John Lynch

K - Morten Andersen

Coach - Don Coryell, Tony Dungy, Jimmy Johnson

Senior nominees (2)

QB Ken Stabler

G Dick Stanfel

Contributor candidate (1)

Edward DeBartolo, Jr.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content