Skip to main content

Butler, Holmgren among 2019 Pro Football Hall of Fame nominees

Sterling Sharpe and Nick Collins also among the 102 modern-era candidates


GREEN BAY – Former Packers coach Mike Holmgren, receiver Sterling Sharpe, and safeties LeRoy Butler and Nick Collins are among the 102 modern-era nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2019.

The roster of nominees consists of 47 offensive players, 39 defensive players, five special teams players and 11 coaches. The modern-era nominees will be reduced to 25 semifinalists in November and, from there, to 15 finalists in January.

Butler, a four-time All-Pro who played for the Packers from 1990-2001, was a first-time semifinalist last year. The other three aforementioned nominees have yet to make it past the initial cut.

Three other players with ties to the Packers, linebacker Seth Joyner (1997), punter Sean Landeta (1998) and defensive tackle Russell Maryland (2000), also were nominated. Clay Matthews Jr., the father of the Packers linebacker, is also a candidate once again.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame welcomed four first-year eligible players: tight end Tony Gonzalez, linebacker London Fletcher, cornerback Champ Bailey and safety Ed Reed.