Skip to main content

Daryn Colledge Selected As Packers' Walter Payton NFL Man Of The Year


Guard Nominated for League-Wide Award

Packers guard Daryn Colledge has been selected as the Packers' 2009 Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year. As the Packers' winner of the award, Colledge will receive a $1,000 donation for the Service League of Green Bay.

He also is nominated for the league-wide award to be selected from 32 NFL players. Three finalists for the award will receive an additional $5,000 and be invited to the Super Bowl in Miami, with the winner announced on field directly before kickoff of the game. The winner will receive a $25,000 donation to the 501(c) 3 organization of his choice.

Since his arrival in Green Bay in 2006 as a second-round pick from Boise State, Colledge has been heavily involved in the Packers' community outreach efforts. He is a strong supporter of the March of Dimes, the Muscular Dystrophy Association, and Family Services of Northeast Wisconsin, and is a regular guest at their annual fundraising events. Big Brothers Big Sisters, the Boys and Girls Club, EAA, UW-Green Bay and Providence Academy also have called upon Daryn as they looked for support for their annual charity events.

Colledge has served breakfast to guests at the Brown County Breakfast on the Farm, mingling and signing autographs for those in attendance. He also took part in the 2008 Hometown Huddle, working alongside several teammates and area children to put the finishing touches on newly constructed playground equipment that was built as a result of an NFL grant. He has given his time to local youth football efforts, speaking to the players and parents of the East River Pop Warner football team, participating in a fundraiser benefiting the Brillion and Wrightstown High School football programs, and demonstrating skills to kids at a local football clinic.

During the holiday season, Colledge has attended the Families of Children with Cancer annual holiday party, sharing dinner and playing games with the young cancer patients and their guests. On several occasions he has rang the Salvation Army bell, exchanging autographs for donations to the Red Kettle Campaign. He continues to be an ambassador for the team and makes regular appearances at the team's Fan Fast and Draft Day events, as well as attends engagements on behalf of the Packers Women's Association, the Packers Partners Fan Club and the team's marketing department.

The Fairbanks, Alaska, native has backed the fundraising efforts and community outreach efforts of his teammates and coaches; he has never missed the opportunity to attend Donald Driver's "Evening of Elegance," in support of Driver's foundation, or the Edgar Bennett Celebrity Bowl-A-Thon, to benefit the Angel Fund for Children with Cancer. For four consecutive years, he has played in the Green Bay Packers Golf Invitational, and has participated in the Vince Lombardi Charitable Funds Golf Classic as well. In 2007, Colledge received the Professional Achievement Award at the annual Lee Remmel Sports Awards Banquet. He also was one of 17 players selected league-wide in 2007 as a Home Depot-NFL Neighborhood MVP, an award which celebrates NFL players for their commitment to giving back to their local communities. As a result, the Green Bay West High School football practice field was completely refurbished with the physical help of Colledge, several teammates and members of the local community.

The Man of the Year honor is the only league award that recognizes player off-the-field community service as well as playing excellence. This year's finalists — one player from each NFL team — have demonstrated an outstanding balance between civic and professional responsibilities in their lives this season. The prestigious award was renamed in 1999 for the legendary Chicago Bears Pro Football Hall of Fame running back. The Walter Payton Man of the Year Award has been given annually since 1970.

Past Packers winners of the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year include: Mark Tauscher, 2008; Brady Poppinga, 2007; Bubba Franks, 2006; Tony Fisher, 2005; Marco Rivera, 2004; Aaron Kampman, 2003; Donald Driver, 2002; Santana Dotson, 2001; Brett Favre, 2000; LeRoy Butler, 1999; Robert Brooks, 1998; Brett Favre, 1997; Mark Chmura, 1996; Ty Detmer, 1995.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content