Skip to main content

Divisional Playoff Schedule Announced


Commissioner Paul Tagliabue announced Monday the schedule of sites, dates and times for the National Football League Divisional Playoffs of January 15-16 (all times Central):


Saturday, January 15

AFC: 3:30 PM CT

San Diego (12-4), New York Jets (10-6) or Denver (10-6) at Pittsburgh (15-1) (CBS-TV)

NFC: 7:00 PM CT

Green Bay (10-6), Seattle (9-7) or St. Louis (8-8) at Atlanta (11-5) (FOX-TV)

Sunday, January 16

NFC: 12:00 PM CT

Seattle (9-7), St. Louis (8-8) or Minnesota (8-8) at Philadelphia (13-3) (FOX-TV)

AFC: 3:30 PM CT

Indianapolis (12-4), San Diego (12-4) or New York Jets (10-6) at New England (14-2) (CBS-TV)

In the Divisional Playoffs, the division champion with the best record in each conference (i.e. Pittsburgh and Philadelphia) is host to the surviving team with the lowest playoff ranking.


As previously announced, Wild Card Weekend is this Saturday and Sunday, January 8-9. The schedule:


Saturday, January 8

NFC: 3:30 PM CT

St. Louis (8-8) at Seattle (9-7) (ABC-TV)

AFC: 7:00 PM CT

New York Jets (10-6) at San Diego (12-4) (ABC-TV)

Sunday, January 9

AFC: 12:00 PM CT

Denver (10-6) at Indianapolis (12-4) (CBS-TV)

NFC: 3:30 PM CT

Minnesota (8-8) at Green Bay (10-6) (FOX-TV)

National Football Conference

  1. Philadelphia (East Division champion)
  1. Atlanta (South Division champion)
  1. Green Bay (North Division champion)
  1. Seattle (West Division champion)
  1. St. Louis
  1. Minnesota

American Football Conference

  1. Pittsburgh (North Division champion)
  1. New England (East Division champion)
  1. Indianapolis (South Division champion)
  1. San Diego (West Division champion)
  1. New York Jets
  1. Denver

The AFC and NFC Championship Games will be played on Sunday, January 23. The NFC Championship will be at 3:00 PM ET on FOX-TV, and the AFC Championship at 6:30 PM ET on CBS-TV.

Super Bowl XXXIX will be played at ALLTEL Stadium in Jacksonville, Florida on Sunday, February 6 at 6:30 PM ET and televised by FOX-TV.

The annual AFC-NFC Pro Bowl will be played at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii on Sunday, February 13 at 7:30 PM ET and televised on ESPN.

All NFL playoff games also are broadcast on Westwood One/CBS Radio.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.