Skip to main content

Five Packers selected to the Pro Bowl


Represented by five members of the team, the Green Bay Packers learned Tuesday that fullback John Kuhn, linebacker Clay Matthews, wide receiver Jordy Nelson, quarterback Aaron Rodgersand guard Josh Sitton were named to the Pro Bowl by the National Football League.

Kuhn was selected to his second career Pro Bowl (2011). His two selections are the third most by a Packers' fullback, behind Clarke Hinkle (1938-40) and Jim Taylor (1960-64). He has contributed to an offense that is second in the NFL in scoring this season. Kuhn has appeared in every game this year. It is the eight consecutive season he has played in at least 14 games.

Matthews earns the fifth selection in his six-year career. He passes Bill Forester (1959-62) for the most selections for a Packers' linebacker. Matthews leads the team with 10 sacks this season. It is his fourth season with 10-plus sacks, which is tied with Reggie White and Kabeer Gbaja-Biamila for No. 1 in team history.

It is the first selection for Nelson, who ranks in the top five in the NFL in receiving yards and touchdown receptions (13) this season. His 1,433 receiving yards are the third most by a Packer in a single season. Nelson also became the fourth player in franchise history to reach 90 receptions in the regular season (92).

For Rodgers, it marks the fourth Pro Bowl selection of his career (2009, 2011, 2012). He joins Bart Starr (1960-62, 1966) and Cecil Isbell (1938-39, 1941-42) for the second-most selections by a Green Bay quarterback, trailing Brett Favre's nine (1992-93, 1995-97, 2001-03, 2007). Rodgers ranks No. 2 in the NFL this season in passer rating (111.0) and touchdown percentage (7.2), is No. 1 in interception percentage (1.0) and No. 3 in touchdown passes (36).

Sitton earns his second career Pro Bowl honor (2012), but his first as an original selection. He is part of an offensive line that has only given up 29 sacks on the season, the fewest since allowing 19 in 2007. Sitton has also helped block for Eddie Lacy, who is the fifth player in franchise history to record consecutive 1,000-yard rushing seasons.

Alternates include T David Bakhtiari, WR Randall Cobb, RB Eddie Lacy, G T.J. Lang, LB Julius Peppers, CB Sam Shields and CB Tramon Williams.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.