Former Packers named semifinalists for Pro Football Hall of Fame

Sterling Sharpe, Cecil Isbell, and Mike Holmgren headline senior and coach/contributor categories


GREEN BAY – Several former Packers have been named semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2024 in the senior and coach/contributor categories.

In the senior group, receiver Sterling Sharpe and quarterback Cecil Isbell are the most prominent Green Bay names on the list of that committee's 31 semifinalists.

Receiver Mark Clayton and defensive lineman Steve McMichael, who played for the Packers toward the end of longer careers with other clubs, also made the list. So did the father of former Packers linebacker Clay Matthews. Clay Matthews Jr., who enjoyed a lengthy and decorated career with the Cleveland Browns, was a finalist for induction through the modern-era process multiple times.

In the coach/contributor category, Super Bowl XXXI-winning head coach Mike Holmgren, who has reached the finalist stage each of the past two years, is among the 29 semifinalists. So is Eddie Kotal, who played for the Packers in the 1920s and was an assistant coach in the 1940s. Kotal is under consideration for his longtime career as a scout for the L.A. Rams.

The 60 total semifinalists will be whittled down to 12 senior finalists and 12 coach/contributor finalists, with those results announced July 27.

In August, three seniors and one coach/contributor will move forward for consideration from the full Hall of Fame selection committee.


Action Needed: Update your Packers Mobile App!

Fans attending any games during the 2023 season should update their Packers mobile app due to important upgrades and enhancements.