Gbaja-Biamila Among Recipients Of Ed Block Courage Award


Defensive end Kabeer Gbaja-Biamila is the Packers' recipient of the 2002 Ed Block Courage Award, the foundation for the award announced Tuesday.

First handed out to Baltimore Colts defensive end Joe Ehrmann in 1978, now the Ed Block Courage Award goes annually to one player on each of the NFL's 32 teams.

Each winner is selected by the votes of his teammates for commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage.

Gbaja-Biamila received national attention this season after delivering a standout performance in the Packers' Dec. 8 victory over the Minnesota Vikings, a game played only days after the tragic death of his mother in a car accident.

In his third NFL season, Gbaja-Biamila also became a regular starter and every-down player for the first time as a pro.

Of his 45 tackles, Gbaja-Biamila recorded a team-high 12 sacks in 2002. He also forced four fumbles.

Along with the 31 other winners from around the league, Gbaja-Biamila is invited to receive his award March 25, at a banquet staged at the Baltimore Convention Center.

The award is named after Ed Block, the former head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts for 23 years. Considered a pioneer in his profession, Block was also respected for his humanitarian efforts, including helping children of abuse.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content