Skip to main content

Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame Inc. set to honor special award winners

Jordy Nelson, Josh Sitton to be inducted into the Packers Hall of Fame Thursday


The Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame Inc. will recognize three special award winners this week in conjunction with Thursday's sold-out Induction Banquet, which will see Jordy Nelson and Josh Sitton inducted into the Packers Hall of Fame.

The event will pay special tribute to the recipients of the Bob Harlan Leadership Award, presented by Miller Lite; the Bart and Cherry Starr Recognition Award, presented by Ariens Company; and the Most Memorable Moment, presented by Festival Foods.

The Bob Harlan Leadership Award is presented in honor of former Green Bay Packers President/CEO and Packers Hall of Famer Bob Harlan, who demonstrated exceptional and extraordinary leadership throughout his career with the Packers. Recipients demonstrate exceptional leadership qualities, over and above the call of duty during or after their career or association with the Packers. Above all, they must have served with the integrity, character and determination emblematic of Harlan.

This year's Bob Harlan Leadership Award recipient is Ted Eisenreich, who enjoyed a 40-year career with the Packers, spending most of his time as director of facility operations. Beginning as an assistant in 1981, he started as one of two members of the Packers' maintenance team, which has now grown to more than 50 employees. In a job that required high organization and a meticulous attention to detail, Eisenreich worked relentlessly to guarantee Lambeau Field and the surrounding campus was always among the best in the NFL. He helped ensure that the Packers could continue playing in Lambeau Field throughout the stadium's nearly three-year redevelopment project that completed in 2003. From successfully supervising and managing numerous additional construction projects to overseeing large-scale additions, snow removal and constant maintenance, Eisenreich contributed significantly to the success of the Packers organization and the stadium facilities over the past four decades.

The Bart and Cherry Starr Recognition Award recognizes a person who has exemplified outstanding character and leadership in their field of expertise, while consistently demonstrating a personal conviction and commitment to the Green Bay Packers.

This year's Bart and Cherry Starr Recognition Award recipient is Tom Konop, who wrapped up six years as President of the Packers Hall of Fame Inc. in April. Konop's 30-year association with Hall of Fame Inc. includes 25 years spent serving on its Executive Committee. During his time with the nonprofit corporation, he led efforts to finalize a 25-year agreement between Hall of Fame Inc. and the Green Bay Packers, strengthening the bond between the organizations and ensuring the team's history will always be available for fans to see. Konop was a vital part of milestones such as the 50th anniversaries of the Hall of Fame and the Ice Bowl, as well as the 100th anniversary of the Green Bay Packers. 

Also to be recognized Thursday is former Packers quarterback Don Majkowski for the Most Memorable Moment, which will recount the unforgettable game between the Packers and the Bears in 1989 that had an enduring impact on the NFL. Known as the "Instant Replay Game," the contest came down to the final play in which Majkowski threw a touchdown pass to Sterling Sharpe. While the score was initially nullified when officials believed Majkowski crossed the line of scrimmage prior to the pass, they reviewed their decision using instant replay—technology that had only been introduced a few years prior—and rightly ruled it a touchdown.

The Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame Inc. is a nonprofit corporation independent of the Green Bay Packers that guides the Hall as a historic national sports venue and educational resource to the Green Bay community and the state of Wisconsin. The Hall raises funds through its annual Induction Banquet, Golf Classic and other events to preserve the history of the Green Bay Packers and expand its archives. Historic memorabilia donated by individuals to the Hall may qualify as tax-deductible gifts.

Originally established in 1967 as a temporary display in the concourse of the Brown County Veterans Memorial Arena, the Packers Hall of Fame moved into its own facility in 1976 near Lambeau Field. In 2003, it was relocated to the lower level of the Lambeau Field Atrium. After renovations beginning in 2013, it reopened in August of 2015, and is now located on the main floor of the Atrium across from 1919 Kitchen & Tap. Additional information including tour details can be found online at

Related Content