Skip to main content

Green, Flanagan Lead Positions For NFC Pro Bowl Squad


Just over a week remains for fans to cast their votes online for the 2003 Pro Bowl.

Packers running back Ahman Green -- who ranks second in the NFC in rushing with 1,383 yards -- currently ranks fifth among all NFL stars in balloting with 563,451 votes, the NFL announced Wednesday.

Mike Flanagan leads all NFC centers with 105,518 votes.

Tennessee Titans quarterback Steve McNair, with 641,410 votes, leads the league while Kansas City Chiefs running back Priest Holmes (631,877 votes) -- the NFL's leader with 17 touchdowns -- ranks second overall.

Indianapolis Colts quarterback Peyton Manning (602,983 votes) and Minnesota Vikings wide receiver Randy Moss (582,479) complete the top five in balloting.

The voting continues on through December 12. The squads will be announced December 18 on the 2004 Pro Bowl Selection Show on ESPN.

The Pro Bowl, the 25th to be played in Honolulu, Hawaii, will be televised live on ESPN at 7:30 PM ET (2:30 PM HT) on February 8.

Sponsored by Motorola and AT&T Wireless, fans can continue to vote on the NFL's website, Votes were also able to be cast at more than 1,000 AT&T Wireless stores nationwide.

For the first time in Pro Bowl voting, fans were offered "TEXTdown," a wireless balloting option that gave fans the chance to vote on their Motorola handsets via AT&T Wireless service for their favorite players in the quarterback, running back, wide receiver, defensive end, outside linebacker and cornerback positions.

The consensus ballots of NFL fans, players and coaches each count one-third towards determining the 43-man rosters that will represent the American and National conferences at Aloha Stadium. Players and coaches will vote on December 15-16.

The NFL is the only professional sports league that combines voting by fans, players and coaches in determining its all-star teams. The NFL became the first professional sports league to offer online voting in 1995.

Listed below are the top 10 overall All-Star vote-getters and the players with the most votes at each position through November 28:


QB, Steve McNair (Titans) 641,410

RB, Priest Holmes (Chiefs) 631,877

QB, Peyton Manning (Colts) 602,983

WR, Randy Moss (Vikings) 582,479

RB, Ahman Green (Packers) 563,451

TE, Tony Gonzalez (Chiefs) 562,928

WR, Marvin Harrison (Colts) 542,090

WR, Torry Holt (Rams) 523,060

RB, Stephen Davis (Panthers) 482,831

RB, Jamal Lewis (Ravens) 478,914



QB, Steve McNair (Titans) 641,410

RB, Priest Holmes (Chiefs) 631,877

FB, Mike Anderson (Broncos) 173,927

WR, Marvin Harrison (Colts) 542,090

TE, Tony Gonzalez (Chiefs) 562,928

T, Willie Roaf (Chiefs) 135,182

G, Will Shields (Chiefs) 132,752

C, Kevin Mawae (Jets) 82,522

K, Mike Vanderjagt (Colts) 338,191

KR, Dante Hall (Chiefs) 343,079


DE, Jevon Kearse (Titans) 215,695

IL, Richard Seymour (Patriots) 155,799

OLB, Sam Cowart (Jets) 126,035

ILB, Ray Lewis (Ravens) 236,012

CB, Patrick Surtain (Dolphins) 178,172

SS, Ed Reed (Ravens) 100,007

FS, Rod Woodson (Raiders) 66,382

P, Shane Lechler (Raiders) 297,061

ST, Larry Izzo (Patriots) 62,810



QB, Daunte Culpepper (Vikings) 423,649

RB, Ahman Green (Packers) 563,451

FB, Richie Anderson (Cowboys) 201,476

WR, Randy Moss (Vikings) 582,479

TE, Jeremy Shockey (Giants) 441,375

T, Orlando Pace (Rams) 110,014

G, Larry Allen (Cowboys) 143,780

C, Mike Flanagan (Packers) 105,518

K, Jeff Wilkins (Rams) 233,865

KR Brian Westbrook (Eagles) 75,144


DE, Simeon Rice (Buccaneers) 219,632

IL, Warren Sapp (Buccaneers) 134,339

OLB, LaVar Arrington (Redskins) 79,773

ILB, Brian Urlacher (Bears) 152,248

CB, Drè Bly (Lions) 159,848

SS, Corey Chavous (Vikings) 142,938

FS, Brian Russell (Vikings) 123,259

P, Todd Sauerbrun (Panthers) 167,938

ST, James Whalen (Cowboys) 42,769

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content