Skip to main content

Kampman Named Second-Team All-Pro


Aaron Kampman continues to pull in the postseason honors.

Three weeks after being named to the NFC Pro Bowl squad for the first time, Kampman has earned a second-team All-Pro selection from the Associated Press.

Kampman, a fifth-year defensive end, posted a career-high 15 1/2 sacks in 2006, the third-best single-season total in franchise history. He had four multiple-sack games, all at home, including a pair of three-sack games against New Orleans (Sept. 17) and Minnesota (Dec. 21).

The AP All-Pro team consists of the best players at each position regardless of conference, as chosen by a panel of national media.

Miami's Jason Taylor and Carolina's Julius Peppers were the first-team selections at defensive end. Kampman was joined on the second team by Buffalo's Aaron Schobel.

Rewarded for his hard work with a four-year contract extension on the eve of free agency last year, Kampman in turn rewarded the Packers with his best season as a professional in 2006.

In addition to racking up 15 1/2 sacks, which tied for second in the league and were more than twice as many as his previous career high of 6 1/2, Kampman also led Green Bay defensive linemen with a career-high 113 tackles (84 solo), which ranked third on the team behind linebackers A.J. Hawk and Nick Barnett.

Kampman had a streak of six games this season with at least a half-sack, and he started all 16 games for the third straight season. He has now started 58 consecutive games.

Kampman's selection gives the Packers at least one representative on the AP All-Pro team in 13 of the past 15 seasons. The last Green Bay defensive end to be named AP All-Pro was Reggie White, who was selected to either the first or second team six straight years from 1993-98.

The Associated Press 2006 NFL All-Pro Team (selected by a national panel of media members):



Quarterback: Drew Brees, New Orleans

Running Backs: LaDainian Tomlinson, San Diego; Larry Johnson, Kansas City

Fullback: Lorenzo Neal, San Diego

Tight End: Antonio Gates, San Diego

Wide Receivers: Marvin Harrison, Indianapolis; Chad Johnson, Cincinnati

Tackles: Jammal Brown, New Orleans; Willie Anderson, Cincinnati

Guards: Shawn Andrews, Philadelphia; Alan Faneca, Pittsburgh

Center: Olin Kreutz, Chicago

Kicker: Robbie Gould, Chicago

Kick Returner: Devin Hester, Chicago


Ends: Jason Taylor, Miami; Julius Peppers, Carolina

Tackles: Jamal Williams, San Diego; Kevin Williams, Minnesota

Outside Linebackers: Shawne Merriman, San Diego; Adalius Thomas, Baltimore

Inside Linebacker: Brian Urlacher, Chicago; Zach Thomas, Miami

Cornerbacks: Rashean Mathis, Jacksonville; Champ Bailey, Denver

Safeties: Brian Dawkins, Philadelphia; Ed Reed, Baltimore

Punter: Brian Moorman, Buffalo




Quarterback: Peyton Manning, Indianapolis

Running Backs: Frank Gore, San Francisco; Steven Jackson, St. Louis

Fullback: Mike Karney, New Orleans, and Ovie Mughelli, Baltimore

Tight End: Tony Gonzalez, Kansas City

Wide Receivers: Torry Holt, St. Louis; Andre Johnson, Houston

Tackles: Walter Jones, Seattle; Jonathan Ogden, Baltimore

Guards: Steve Hutchinson, Minnesota; Will Shields, Kansas City

Center: Jeff Saturday, Indianapolis

Kicker: Matt Stover, Baltimore, and Nate Kaeding, San Diego

Kick Returner: Justin Miller, New York Jets


Ends:Aaron Kampman, Green Bay; Aaron Schobel, Buffalo

Tackles: Richard Seymour, New England; John Henderson, Jacksonville

Outside Linebackers: Lance Briggs, Chicago; DeMarcus Ware, Dallas

Inside Linebacker: Al Wilson, Denver; Bart Scott, Baltimore

Cornerbacks: Nnamdi Asomugha, Oakland; Ronde Barber, Tampa Bay

Safeties: Kerry Rhodes, New York Jets; Adrian Wilson, Arizona

Punter: Mat McBriar, Dallas

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content