Skip to main content

Lombardi Named 14th Annual Pete Rozelle Trophy Winner

More than 30 years after his death, the honors continue for Vince Lombardi, the former Green Bay Packers coach who won five NFL championships.

Lombardi was named the 14th annual Pete Rozell Trophy winner by the New Orleans Touchdown Club on Wednesday. Packer executive John Jones is to represent the Packers when the award is formally presented at a luncheon on Aug. 29.

Lombardi, who died in 1970, coached the Packers from 1959 to 1968, years during which the Packers won five NFL championships, including the first two Super Bowls. Lombardi was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1971.

The New Orleans Touchdown Club established the Rozelle award in 1989 to honor NFL commissioner when he announced his retirement. Rozelle died on Dec. 6, 1996. He was commissioner for 29 years.

-- Associated Press

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.