Skip to main content

Packers Place Eight Players On Waivers


The Green Bay Packers have placed eight players on waivers in the process of reducing the team's roster to the regular-season limit, GM/Head Coach Mike Sherman announced Friday.

Those released included wide receivers Mike Horacek, an Arena Football League veteran from Iowa State, and Jörg Heckenbach of the Braunschweig Lions (Germany), safeties Jeremy Unertl of Wisconsin-La Crosse and Bobby Jackson of Illinois, running back Adam Tate of Utah, punter Tim Morgan of San Jose State, defensive end Jermaine Petty of Arkansas and linebacker Isaac Keys of Morehouse.

Tate and Jackson were waived/injured and Petty was released upon reaching an injury settlement.

Wide receiver Travis Williams of Navy also was placed on reserve/non football injury/NFL Europe.

The departures reduce the Packers' current roster to 65 players. Under NFL rules, teams must reach the regular-season limit of 53 by 3 p.m. Sunday, Wisconsin time. Teams may establish a 5-player Practice Squad after 11 a.m., CDT, Monday.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content