Packers seeking nominations for High School Coach of the Week program

Program awards $1,000 to high school football programs each week; nominations are open for all football coaches, regardless of whether their team is playing in fall or spring

Lambeau Field

The Green Bay Packers High School Coach of the Week Program is now underway, and the team is currently accepting nominations from high schools across the state, regardless of whether the high school team is playing in the fall or spring this year.

The program recognizes one outstanding Wisconsin high school coach on a weekly basis during the next several months. Each honoree will be awarded several items and privileges, including a $1,000 donation to the school's football program from the Green Bay Packers and the NFL and recognition on, and

This year, because some schools have postponed their football seasons to the spring due to COVID-19, the Packers are seeking coaches to be nominated regardless of their teams' on-field performance or whether they are playing in the fall or spring. Rather, the nominee could be honored for how they have turned programs around, how the team has impacted the community, or how the coach impacts the players and their families.

At the end of the season, one coach is named the WFCA/Green Bay Packers High School Football Coach of the Year, selected by the Wisconsin Football Coaches Association, and is given a $2,000 donation for his or her football program.

"We're proud to recognize the hard work of high school football coaches with the Packers Coach of the Week program," said Packers football outreach specialist Ryan Fencl. "As educators, mentors and leaders, both on and off the field, they serve as positive examples for young people in the community and give them the opportunity to learn and grow."

Nominations can be submitted by 10 a.m. every Monday to Ryan Fencl, Packers football outreach specialist, at All nominations should include the nominee's name, address, school, phone number and reason he/she is deserving of the award.

Related Content