Skip to main content

Packers' Sharper, Ferguson Among NFC's Leading Vote-Getters In Bid For 2005 Pro Bowl


Packers safety DARREN SHARPER and wide receiver/kick returner ROBERT FERGUSON are among the NFC's leading vote-getters for the 2005 Pro Bowl, announced Wednesday.

Indianapolis quarterback PEYTON MANNING, with 722,669 votes, leads all NFL All-Stars in balloting.

Click Here to vote Ferguson, Sharper and their Packers teammates to the 2005 Pro Bowl.

Sponsored by Ameriquest Mortgage, Pro Bowl voting will continue on, in stadiums and via wireless text message through Sunday, December 17.

There have been 42 million votes cast on - over two million more than through the first six weeks of voting in 2003.

Philadelphia Eagles quarterback DONOVAN MC NABB (661,852 votes) ranks second overall while Minnesota Vikings quarterback DAUNTE CULPEPPER (652,318), Eagles wide receiver TERRELL OWENS (613,120) and New York Giants running back TIKI BARBER (566,673) round out the top five. Steelers quarterback BEN ROETHLISBERGER (468,323) tops all rookies and ranks ninth overall.

The teams will be announced at 7 p.m. (ET) Wednesday, December 22 on the 2005 Pro Bowl Selection Show on ESPN. The Pro Bowl will be played in Hawaii on Sunday, February 13 and televised by ESPN at 7:30 p.m. (ET).

In addition to casting ballots on and in stadiums, fans can cast their Pro Bowl ballot and vote for their favorite quarterback, tight end, wide receiver, running back and kicker via their wireless device. To participate, fans must send a message with the text "NFL VOTE" to 69847. Each completed ballot is packaged with exclusive NFL Shield wallpaper for $0.99.

Fans who vote for their Pro Bowl players will then be able to enter for a chance to win the Ameriquest Pro Bowl in Paradise Sweepstakes with a trip to the Pro Bowl. The Grand Prize includes an all expense paid trip to the game in Honolulu and includes exclusive experiences such as the chance to throw a football with a Pro Bowl player, a tour of Aloha Stadium, sideline passes at the game and more.

The AFC and NFC All-Star squads are made up of the consensus votes of fans, players and coaches. Each group's vote counts one-third towards determining the 43-man rosters that represent the American Football Conference and National Football Conference in the Pro Bowl. NFL players and coaches will cast their votes on December 20-21.

The NFL is the only sports league that combines voting by fans, coaches and players to determine its all-star teams. It was the first professional sports league to offer online all-star voting in 1995.

Listed below are the top 10 overall All-Star vote-getters and the players with the most votes at each position through December 6:


QB, Peyton Manning, Colts - 722,669

QB, Donovan McNabb, Eagles - 661,852

QB, Daunte Culpepper, Vikings - 652,318

WR, Terrell Owens, Eagles - 613,120

RB, Tiki Barber, Giants - 566,673

RB, Shaun Alexander, Seahawks - 544,789

TE, Tony Gonzalez, Chiefs - 478,009

WR, Marvin Harrison, Colts - 475,996

QB, Ben Roethlisberger, Steelers - 468,323

TE, Antonio Gates, Chargers - 466,315



QB, Peyton Manning, Colts - 722,669

RB, Priest Holmes, Chiefs - 430,730

FB, Jerald Sowell, Jets - 247,189

WR, Marvin Harrison, Colts - 475,996

TE, Tony Gonzalez, Chiefs - 478,009

T, Jonathan Ogden, Ravens - 136,986

G, Alan Faneca, Steelers - 163,595

C, Kevin Mawae, Jets - 150,424

K, Adam Vinatieri, Patriots - 332,845

KR, Terrence McGee, Bills - 88,364


DE, John Abraham, Jets - 262,525

IL, Marcus Stroud, Jaguars - 147,309

OLB, Keith Bulluck, Titans - 124,085

ILB, Ray Lewis, Ravens - 191,009

CB, Champ Bailey, Broncos - 193,556

SS, Ed Reed, Ravens - 146,388

FS, John Lynch, Broncos - 83,202

P, Shane Lechler, Raiders - 181,473

ST, Larry Izzo, Patriots - 80,608



QB, Donovan McNabb, Eagles - 661,852

RB, Tiki Barber, Giants - 566,673

FB, Justin Griffith, Falcons - 161,953

WR, Terrell Owens, Eagles - 613,120

TE, Alge Crumpler, Falcons - 366,564

T, Orlando Pace, Rams - 119,702

G, Larry Allen, Cowboys - 135,808

C, Matt Birk, Vikings - 105,634

K, David Akers, Eagles - 458,995

KR, Eddie Drummond, Lions - 200,794


DE, Patrick Kerney, Falcons - 143,335

IL, Kevin Williams, Minnesota - 125,720

OLB, Derrick Brooks, Buccaneers - 177,717

ILB, Brian Urlacher, Bears - 188,652

CB, Lito Sheppard, Eagles - 133,148

SS, Adam Archuleta, Rams - 78,950

FS, Darren Sharper, Packers - 119,736

P, Mitch Berger, Saints - 143,182

ST, Robert Ferguson, Packers - 73,228

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content