Skip to main content

Packers to welcome back Super Bowl I Alumni and Packers Hall of Famers Sunday


The Green Bay Packers home opener against the Seattle Seahawks on Sunday night is the Packers' annual alumni game and will feature halftime introductions of several Packers Hall of Famers and Super Bowl I alumni.

Several alumni will take the field and serve in Sunday's Ambassador Line during pregame festivities, and then be introduced from the field during halftime.

Among the Super Bowl I alumni scheduled to attend are Donny Anderson, Zeke Bratkowski, Allen Brown, Tom Brown, Bill Curry, Carroll Dale, Willie Davis, Boyd Dowler, Marv Fleming, Jim Grabowski, Forrest Gregg, Doug Hart, Dave Hathcock, Jerry Kramer, William Mack, Dave Robinson, Jim Taylor and Stephen Wright.

Among the Packers Hall of Famersscheduled to attend are John Anderson, John Brockington, Willie Buchanon, Leroy Butler, Al Carmichael, Paul Coffman, Fred Cone, Dan Currie, Lynn Dickey, Gerry Ellis, Ken Ellis, Antonio Freeman, Johnnie Gray, Ahman Green, Chris Jacke, Ezra Johnson, Gary Knafelc, James Lofton, Don Majkowski, Chester Marcol, John Martinkovic, Mark Murphy, Ken Ruettgers and Frank Winters.

In addition, two alumni, LeRoy Butlerand Ken Ruettgers, are scheduled to make appearances Sunday at various locations, per home game custom.

Famously credited with the invention of the Lambeau Leap in 1993, LeRoy Butler is a former safety who played his entire 12-year career with the Green Bay Packers (1990-2001). Selected by the Packers in the second round of the 1990 NFL Draft, he played in 181 games, recording 721 tackles, 38 interceptions, 20.5 sacks and 13 forced fumbles. Butler was named to the NFL 1990s All-Decade Team by the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee following the 2000 season and made four Pro Bowl appearances. Butler played in 14 playoff games with the Packers, was a member of the 1996 Super Bowl Championship team and was inducted into the Packers Hall of Fame in 2007.

Ruettgers,a first-round draft pick in 1985, played 12 years for the Packers (1985-96) and was a fixture at left tackle for more than a decade. Anchoring a line that helped establish a new championship era for the team, he was a dominant pass blocker for the likes of Don Majkowski and Brett Favre. Ruettgers authored a career that was among the longest for an offensive lineman in team history, appearing in 156 career games, with 140 starts. He earned team offensive MVP honors in 1989, and was inducted into the Packers Hall of Fame in 2014.

On gameday, from 6 to 7 p.m., Butler will be visiting with fans and signing autographs in the Tundra Tailgate Zoneon the stadium's east side parking lot.* *More information on the Tundra Tailgate Zone can be found online at

During that same time, Ruettgers will be in the Legends Clubon the Associated Bank Club Level, an area accessible to game attendees with suite or club seat tickets, as a guest of the 'Alumni Meet and Greet.'

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.