Packers Win NFC Title, 21-14

With their 21-14 victory over the Chicago Bears on Sunday at Soldier Field, the Green Bay Packers captured the NFC Championship and advanced to Super Bowl XLV.

The Packers will play either the Pittsburgh Steelers or the New York Jets on Sunday, Feb. 6, from Cowboys Stadium in Dallas.

Sunday's win sends the Packers to the Super Bowl for the fifth time in franchise history, and they will be playing for their 13th world championship. The Packers won nine world titles prior to the Super Bowl era, and have gone 3-1 in Super Bowls thus far, winning Super Bowls I, II and XXXI, but losing in Super Bowl XXXII.

The Packers are heading to the Super Bowl for the first time in 13 years. This was their second NFC Championship appearance in the last four years, but Green Bay lost in overtime to the Giants following the 2007 season.

Aaron Rodgers and James Starks each rushed for a touchdown, and the Packers got a defensive touchdown in the fourth quarter when nose tackle B.J. Raji intercepted a pass and returned it 18 yards for the score.

That put the Packers ahead 21-7, but the Bears weren't done. Down to their third quarterback, Caleb Hanie, after Jay Cutler left with a knee injury and backup Todd Collins was benched, the Bears drove for a TD on a 35-yard pass to Earl Bennett.

The Packers then punted and Chicago was back on the move, all the way to the Green Bay 27 with just over a minute left. But on fourth down, Hanie was intercepted by rookie cornerback Sam Shields, his second INT of the game, to seal it for Green Bay.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content


Cast your vote for the Pro Bowl Games!

Help send your favorite Packers players to the 2024 Pro Bowl Games!