Skip to main content

Punter Jon Ryan Named Recipient Of 'The Ed Block Courage Award'


BALTIMORE, Md. - P Jon Ryan on Friday was named the Packers' recipient of the Ed Block Courage Award. Recipients from each NFL team are selected by their teammates for displaying commitments to the principles of courage and sportsmanship, while serving as inspirations in their locker rooms.

Ryan performed admirably vs. the Jets (Dec. 3), despite the passing of his father just two days earlier, averaging 39.5 yards on two punts.

"Not playing didn't cross my mind once," Ryan said following the game. "It wasn't even my decision. It was my dad's decision. I knew my dad would want me out there playing, but at the same time under the circumstances it was very difficult."

Each player will receive an Ed Block Courage Award at the 29th Annual Ed Block Courage Awards on Tuesday, March 20th at Martin's West. The accolade has become one of the most esteemed honors bestowed upon a player in the NFL, especially since the recipient is selected by his peers. Recipients are often players who have overcome devastating injuries or tragedies in their personal lives to return to the top level of competition that is the NFL.

The Baltimore Ravens' 2006 Ed Block Courage Award selection is Cornerback Corey Ivy. A 6-year NFL veteran, Ivy signed a 3 year contract with the Ravens in March '06. On the return flight from the Denver game the team charter made an emergency landing in Pittsburgh to get Corey medical treatment for a lacerated kidney he suffered during the game. He was able to return to the field of play in week 9, and was one of the Ravens most inspirational

performers throughout the rest of the season.

Baltimore Ravens Tight End Todd Heap will be participating as this year's Courage Captain and play a major role in presentation awards that evening. The Courage Awards will also honor the 2006 NFL Athletic Training Staff of the Year from the Miami Dolphins and the Pro Football Weekly Assistant Coach of the Year (yet to be announced).

The Courage Award is named after Ed Block, the longtime head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts who was a pioneer in his profession and a respected humanitarian. The Foundation's efforts are endorsed by the NFL and the Professional Football Athletic Trainers Society (PFATS). The inaugural Ed Block Courage Award was presented in 1978 to Baltimore Colts' defensive end, Joe Ehrmann. Following the Colts departure from Baltimore in 1984, the

scope of the Award expanded to include one player from every team in the NFL.

{sportsad300}For more than 28 years, the Ed Block Courage Award Foundation has celebrated the courageous efforts of players in the NFL while raising the nation's awareness of the plight of abused children in NFL communities. Through the Foundation's Courage House National Support Network for Kids, the organization has helped Courage Houses improve the lives of abused children across America. Named after the NFL team in a respective city, a Courage House is a facility that provides support/quality care for abused children in that community. Currently, more than 50-percent of the teams in the NFL support a Courage House. That group includes: Pittsburgh, Chicago, Detroit, Miami, Dallas, Baltimore, Oakland, New York (Giants), Seattle, Carolina, Cleveland, Atlanta, St. Louis, Indianapolis, Buffalo, San Francisco and Minnesota. A new Courage House will be dedicated at this year's event. The Green Bay Packers Courage House has been selected for inclusion in the Courage House National

Support Network for Kids.

Sponsorship opportunities for the event range from $2,500 to $25,000. A table (10 seats) may be purchased for $1,250 and individual tickets are $150 each. To become a sponsor or purchase tables/tickets, call 410.821.6252.

The complete list of the 2006 Class of Ed Block Courage Award recipients is as follows:


Baltimore Ravens - Corey Ivy, cornerback

Buffalo Bills - Takeo Spikes, linebacker

Cincinnati Bengals - Carson Palmer, quarterback

Cleveland Browns - Phil Dawson, kicker

Denver Broncos - Louis Green, linebacker

Houston Texans - Kailee Wong, linebacker

Indianapolis Colts - Reggie Wayne, wide receiver

Jacksonville Jaguars - Jorge Cordova, linebacker

Kansas City Chiefs - Benny Sapp, defensive back

Miami Dolphins - Zach Thomas, linebacker

New England Patriots - Rodney Harrison, safety

New York Jets - Chris Baker, tight end

Oakland Raiders - Ronald Curry, wide receiver

Pittsburgh Steelers - Travis Kirschke, defensive tackle

San Diego Chargers - Carlos Polk, linebacker

Tennessee Titans - Brandon Jones, wide receiver


Arizona Cardinals - Kurt Warner, quarterback

Atlanta Falcons - Kevin Mathis, defensive back

Carolina Panthers - Colin Branch, strong safety

Chicago Bears - Rex Grossman, quarterback

Dallas Cowboys - Flozell Adams, offensive tackle

Detroit Lions - Rickey Sandoval, Director of Security

Green Bay Packers - Jon Ryan, punter

Minnesota Vikings - Matt Birk, center

New Orleans Saints - Deuce McAllister, running back

New York Giants - Carlos Emmons, linebacker

Philadelphia Eagles - Jerome McDougle, defensive end

Seattle Seahawks - Ken Hamlin, safety

St. Louis Rams - Pisa Tinoisamoa, linebacker

San Francisco 49ers - Frank Gore, running back

Tampa Bay Buccaneers - Shelton Quarles, linebacker

Washington Redskins - Randy Thomas, offensive guard

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.