Skip to main content

Several Packers among preliminary nominees for Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2024

Packers Hall of Famers Jordy Nelson and Josh Sitton are eligible for first time

Josh Sitton, Jordy Nelson
Josh Sitton, Jordy Nelson

GREEN BAY – Newly minted Packers Hall of Famers Jordy Nelson and Josh Sitton are among the 173 modern-era nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2024.

Nelson ranks fourth in team history in receptions (550), sixth in receiving yards (7,848), third in touchdown receptions (69) and fourth in 100-yard receiving games (25).

Nelson is the only player in team annals to record three seasons with 13-plus TD receptions (2011, 2014, 2016). Nelson was selected to the Pro Bowl and named second-team All-Pro in 2014 after setting career highs in receptions (98) and receiving yards (1,519) while also hauling in 13 touchdowns.

After missing the 2015 season due to a knee injury, Nelson became the first Packer to be named the NFL Comeback Player of the Year by AP after registering 1,257 yards on 97 receptions (13.0 avg.) with a league-high 14 receiving TDs in 2016.

Sitton played eight seasons (2008-15) in Green Bay, starting 112 of 121 regular-season games and all 13 postseason contests in which he appeared. During his time with the Packers, Sitton was named to the Pro Bowl three times (2012, '14-15) and earned second-team AP All-Pro honors three times (2013-15).

Former Packers guard T.J. Lang (2009-16) was also nominated in his first year of modern-era eligibility. He started 94 of his 119 appearances for the Packers and was twice selected to the Pro Bowl (2016 in Green Bay and 2017 in Detroit).

Outside linebacker/defensive end Julius Peppers also was among the list of first-time nominees, though he played just three of his 17 NFL seasons with the Packers. He did make one of his nine Pro Bowl appearances as a member of the Packers in 2015.

Other nominees include receivers Donald Driver, Antonio Freeman and Andre Rison, safeties Nick Collins and Eugene Robinson, running backs Ahman Green and Dorsey Levens, fullbacks John Kuhn and Vonta Leach, offensive linemen Jahri Evans and Jeff Saturday, linebackers Bryce Paup, Seth Joyner and Hardy Nickerson, tight end Wesley Walls, returners Eric Metcalf and Allen Rossum, and punter Sean Landeta.

From the 173 modern-era nominees, 25 semifinalists will be selected in November, and then 15 finalists in January. The finalists will be presented to the full selection committee, along with the senior and coach/contributor nominees, for a vote.

Only Evans, who spent his final NFL season with the Packers, has reached the semifinalist stage in the past. The roster of nominees consists of 94 offensive players, 62 defensive players and 17 special teams players. The list of modern-era Nominees will be reduced to 25 semifinalists in November.