Think You Know The Packers' Roster?


Between now and Sept. 1, the Green Bay Packers' 2007 roster will take shape, and when it's finalized with 53 names, it will certainly look different than it does now with 87 players.

But one of the interesting aspects of the large, training camp roster is seeing how many different schools, conferences and levels of college football the players come from.

For the record, of the 87 players on the current active roster (not including newcomer Carl-Johan Bjork, who has been designated for the practice squad), 69 come from Division I-A college football programs, seven from Division I-AA schools, eight from Division II teams, and three from other programs, according to all current NCAA alignments.

How well do you know the makeup of the Green Bay roster as it relates to the current college football landscape? Here are 10 trivia questions, some more difficult than others, to test your knowledge. Remember, this encompasses all 87 players coming to training camp, including those who returned from NFL Europa and did not participate in the spring mini-camps or OTAs. The answers are posted below the list of questions.


  1. About those "three from other programs," the Packers have one player from a non-U.S. college, one from an NAIA program, and one from a two-year school. Who are they?
  1. Of the 11 Division I-A conferences, the Packers have just one player from the Sun Belt Conference. Who is it?
  1. The Packers have a team-high three players from five different schools. Which ones?
  1. From which conference do the Packers have the most players?
  1. Which conference has the most schools represented on the Packers' roster?
  1. Of the NCAA's six BCS conferences, which is the least represented?
  1. The Packers have just three players from the Mountain West Conference, but two are from the same school. Who are they?
  1. Of the team's seven Division I-AA players, five come from just two of the 14 I-AA leagues. Which two?
  1. Of the eight Division II players, two are from the same school. Where?
  1. Also in Division II, strangely enough, the two players from the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association (MIAA) play the same position, and the two players from the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) also play the same position. Which positions?


  1. Punter Jon Ryan is from the University of Regina in Saskatchewan, Canada; TE Zac Alcorn is from the NAIA's Black Hills State in South Dakota; and DE DeVon Hicks is from Northwest Mississippi Community College.
  1. DT Corey Williams, from Arkansas State.
  1. Ohio State (DT Ryan Pickett, LB A.J. Hawk and G Tyson Walter), Iowa (DE Aaron Kampman, DT Colin Cole and LB Abdul Hodge), Texas A&M (WR Robert Ferguson, DT Johnny Jolly and DE Michael Montgomery), California (QB Aaron Rodgers, P David Lonie and LB Desmond Bishop), and Tennessee (C Scott Wells, T Chad Clifton and DT Justin Harrell).
  1. The Big Ten, with 11. Six are from Ohio State and Iowa (see answer No. 3), two are from Michigan (CB Charles Woodson and G Adam Stenavich), and there's one each from Michigan State (K Dave Rayner), Northwestern (RB Noah Herron) and Wisconsin (T Mark Tauscher).
  1. Surprisingly perhaps, it's Conference USA, with seven schools - Southern Mississippi (QB Brett Favre), Central Florida (S Atari Bigby), Rice (CB Patrick Dendy), Alabama-Birmingham (FB Corey White), Southern Methodist (S Alvin Nnabuife), Memphis (LB Tim Goodwell), and Texas-El Paso (WR Chris Francies). There are six schools represented from the Big 10, Big 12 and Western Athletic conferences.
  1. The Big East, with three schools and four players - Pittsburgh (FB Brandon Miree), Rutgers (TE Clark Harris) and Louisville (G Jason Spitz and G Travis Leffew).
  1. DE Kabeer Gbaja-Biamila and S Marviel Underwood are both from San Diego State. The team's other Mountain West player is LB Brady Poppinga from BYU.
  1. The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference or MEAC (S Nick Collins of Bethune-Cookman, T Junius Coston of North Carolina A&T, and LB Tracy White of Howard) and the Southern Conference (QB Ingle Martin of Furman and DE Jason Hunter of Appalachian State).
  1. Tuskegee (CB Frank Walker and WR Calvin Russell).
  1. Offensive linemen Allen Barbre of Missouri Southern State and Pat Murray of Truman State are from the MIAA; Wide receivers Ruvell Martin of Saginaw Valley State and Carlton Brewster of Ferris State are from the GLIAC.

Just a reminder, if you are a trivia buff, don't forget to answer the weekly trivia question. Just click here.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Action Needed: Update your Packers Mobile App!

Fans attending any games during the 2023 season should update their Packers mobile app due to important upgrades and enhancements.