Skip to main content

Underwood Named To NFL Committe Studying Revenue Sharing


John R. Underwood, treasurer for the Green Bay Packers since 1990, has been named by NFL Commissioner Paul Tagliabue to the league's Revenue Sharing and Cost Study Working Group, Packers President Bob Harlan announced Wednesday.

The appointment of Underwood to this important committee was made by Tagliabue at the NFL owners meeting in Jacksonville, Fla., late last month. The committee has been charged by the Commissioner to address the economic issues that face the league, and at some future date it will report back to the ownership group.

"I am very pleased to have John represent the Packers on such an important issue for our league," Harlan said. "Our organization faces many challenges in the future, one of which is an appropriate sharing of league revenue.

"We have a unique perspective. We don't have an owner in the traditional sense. We are, and always will be, a small-market team with the inherent obstacles relative to local revenue. Yet, at the same time, we clearly remain one of the league's highest-profile teams. I think it was important that we have a seat at the table in this committee's discussions."

Underwood, 69, is a retired bank president and CEO. He first joined the Packers' board of directors June 1, 1986. He subsequently was elected to the team's Executive Committee and as the corporation's treasurer June 4, 1990.

"I appreciate the appointment by Commissioner Tagliabue, and look forward to serving on the special committee on league economics," said Underwood. "A continuing, viable economic structure is critical to the success of the Green Bay Packers as well as to all of the franchises of the National Football League."

The 12-member Revenue Sharing and Cost Study Working Group is chaired by Houston Texans' owner Bob McNair. The other 10 members are: Jerry Jones of Dallas, Wellington Mara of the N.Y. Giants, Robert Kraft of New England, Wayne Weaver of Jacksonville, Arthur Blank of Atlanta, Al Davis of Oakland, William Clay Ford Jr. of Detroit, Wayne Huizenga of Miami, Jerry Richardson of Carolina and Dan Rooney of Pittsburgh.

The Packers now are represented on a total of three prominent NFL committees. Harlan sits on the executive committee of the NFL Management Council. GM/Head Coach Mike Sherman is a member of the coaches' sub-committee of the prestigious NFL Competition Committee.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content