Skip to main content

LeRoy Butler named a Hall of Fame semifinalist for third straight year

Former Packers safety among 25 modern-era nominees for the Class of 2020 

Former Packers safety LeRoy Butler
Former Packers safety LeRoy Butler

GREEN BAY – Former Packers safety LeRoy Butler has been named one of 25 modern-era semifinalists for enshrinement into the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2020.

It's the third consecutive year the four-time All-Pro safety has selected as a semifinalist. During his 12 seasons with Green Bay, Butler became the first defensive back in NFL history to eclipse 20 interceptions and 20 sacks, finishing his career with 38 interceptions, 20½ sacks in 181 regular-season games.

Synonymous with the Lambeau Leap, Butler was a versatile centerpiece of defensive coordinator Fritz Shurmur's defense during the Packers' Super Bowl XXXI championship run.

A second-round pick out of Florida State in 1992, Butler is currently the only offensive or defensive player from the 1990s All-Decade Team that has yet to be a finalist for enshrinement.

Three other individuals with connections to that team – quarterback Brett Favre, defensive end Reggie White and general manager Ron Wolf – already have been enshrined in Canton.

The next step in the selection process comes in January when Butler will look to make the cut to 15 finalists for the first time. The Hall of Fame is celebrating the NFL's Centennial Season with a special 20-member induction class in 2020, but it will still include only five modern-era nominees.

Ten senior nominees, three contributors and two coaches will make up the rest of the special class. The Hall's selection committee will cast its final votes on the day before Super Bowl LIV.

The 25 semifinalists include six defensive backs, five linebackers, four receivers, three defensive linemen, three offensive linemen, three running backs and one special-teamer.

Related Content