Packers elect team captains: It's Aaron Rodgers, Za'Darius Smith & Mason Crosby for second straight year

Team will also have rotating captains on a weekly basis

2020 Packers Captains: LB Za'Darius Smith, QB Aaron Rodgers, and K Mason Crosby

GREEN BAY – The Packers' season-long captains for 2020 are the same three who held the honor in 2019.

In a team-wide vote, the Packers elected quarterback Aaron Rodgers to represent the offense, outside linebacker Za'Darius Smith for the defense, and kicker Mason Crosby for special teams.

Those three were the team's primary captains a year ago in Head Coach Matt LaFleur's first season, the first year in a long while the team elected season-long captains. Former coach Mike McCarthy had three captains rotate weekly and then elected six captains to wear the "C" patch on their jerseys for the postseason.

As the Packers did last year, they will continue to have one representative from each phase as rotating weekly captains joining the main three. LaFleur said that approach is due to the large number of players viewed as leaders in the locker room.

"It's hard to narrow it down to just six guys," LaFleur said. "We had a lot of guys that received a lot of votes, and behind those first three it was very, very close as far as who was No. 2."

For Rodgers, this is the 10th time he has been chosen a captain by his teammates – all eight playoff appearances under McCarthy, plus last year and this year. For Crosby, it's his seventh selection (2010, '11, '13, '15 and '16 prior to last year), and for Smith, his second in two seasons in Green Bay.

Related Content