A look at the Packers' playoff captains

Two each on offense, defense and special teams


As per team tradition, the Packers elected playoff captains. Each captain, as voted on by the players, represents the team in each of its postseason games.

On offense, the captains are QB Aaron Rodgers and G T.J. Lang. On defense, it's LB Julius Peppers and S Ha Ha Clinton-Dix. On special teams, K Mason Crosby and DB Micah Hyde.

The jerseys of the Packers' six playoff captains each received a captain patch on their white road jersey in advance of Sunday's NFC Championship game between the Packers & Falcons. Photos by Ryan Hartwig, packers.com.

Rodgers has been a playoff captain every year since 2009, making this his eighth selection. It's also the fifth selection for Crosby, who was previously playoff captain in 2010, '11, '13 and '15, and the third for Peppers, who has been chosen each of his seasons in Green Bay since arriving in 2014.

Lang, Clinton-Dix and Hyde are all first-time playoff captains. Both Lang and Clinton-Dix were recently elected to their first Pro Bowl.

All six players will continue to wear a "C" patch on their jerseys for Sunday's NFC Championship Game in Atlanta. The Packers do not have players wear a patch during the regular season, choosing to have weekly captains go out for the coin toss before each game.

An exception to that was in 2014, when the Packers elected playoff captains with two games left in the regular season, and those players served as captains the rest of the way.


Take a look at the Packers' weekly captains. As per team tradition, the Packers select game captains each week. Photos by Evan Siegle, packers.com.

Previous playoff captains, year by year**

2007: Brett Favre, Donald Driver, Nick Barnett, Aaron Kampman, Rob Davis, Tracy White

2009: Aaron Rodgers, Donald Driver, Charles Woodson, Nick Collins, Desmond Bishop, Derrick Martin

2010: Aaron Rodgers, Greg Jennings, Charles Woodson, A.J. Hawk, Jarrett Bush, Mason Crosby

2011: Aaron Rodgers, Donald Driver, Charles Woodson, A.J. Hawk, Jarrett Bush, Mason Crosby

2012: Aaron Rodgers, James Jones, Charles Woodson, Clay Matthews, Jarrett Bush, Jamari Lattimore

2013: Aaron Rodgers, Jordy Nelson, Morgan Burnett, A.J. Hawk, Jarrett Bush, Mason Crosby

2014: Aaron Rodgers, Jordy Nelson, Julius Peppers, Morgan Burnett, Jarrett Bush, Randall Cobb

2015: Aaron Rodgers, John Kuhn, Clay Matthews, Julius Peppers, Mason Crosby, Chris Banjo

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content