Packers sign S Rudy Ford

Green Bay releases S Micah Abernathy, signs 12 to practice squad

S Rudy Ford

The Green Bay Packers have signed S Rudy Ford and released S Micah Abernathy, and signed the following players to the practice squad: QB Danny Etling, WR Travis Fulgham (full-gum), CB Rico Gafford, RB Tyler Goodson, LB La'Darius Hamilton, DL Jack Heflin, T Caleb Jones, LB Kobe Jones, DL Chris Slayton, RB Patrick Taylor, CB Kiondre Thomas (kee-ON-dray) and LB Ray Wilborn. General Manager Brian Gutekunst announced the transactions Wednesday.

Ford (6-0, 200), a sixth-year player out of Auburn University, was originally drafted by the Arizona Cardinals in the sixth round (No. 208 overall) in 2017. After two years with the Cardinals (2017-18), he played for the Philadelphia Eagles for two seasons (2019-20) and spent last season with the Jacksonville Jaguars (2021). For his career, Ford has played in 56 games with six starts and registered 59 tackles (42 solo), two tackles for a loss, three passes defensed, two QB hits, a half-sack and an interception. He has posted 29 tackles on special teams, including a career-high 11 for the Eagles in 2020. Ford will wear No. 20 for the Packers.

All 12 players signed to the practice squad spent time with the Packers during the 2022 training camp.