Sherman Named Staples NFL Coach Of The Year


In astounding fashion, football fans worldwide named Packers GM/Head Coach Mike Sherman the Staples NFL Coach Of The Year.

Online voting at closed Sunday, with Sherman receiving a whopping 46.9 percent of 178,730 votes.

Runner-up was Marty Schottenheimer of the San Diego Chargers, who received 11.4 percent of the votes. Tennessee's Jeff Fisher (5.8 percent), Philadelphia's Andy Reid (5.8 percent) and Tampa Bay's Jon Gruden (5.3 percent) rounded out the top-five.

As a result, Staples will present a $25,000 check to the charity of Sherman's choosing.

In only his third year as head coach, Sherman guided the Packers to a 12-4 regular season record and the team's first division title in five seasons.

Green Bay went undefeated at home during the regular season, the only NFL team to accomplish that feat.

The Packers did so despite a wave of injuries that forced 13 of the team's 22 opening day starters to miss at least one game, including seven that missed three or more.

Now 33-15 as a head coach, Sherman has more wins through three seasons with the Packers than all but two of his 12 predecessors: Vince Lombardi (35 wins from 1961-63) and Mike Holmgren (37 wins from 1995-97).

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content