Choosing the MVP of MVPs: Top three choices up for final vote

Bart Starr in 1966, Brett Favre in 1996 or Aaron Rodgers in 2011?

1966 Bart Starr, 1996 Brett Favre, 2011 Aaron Rodgers

GREEN BAY – With Aaron Rodgers winning the 2020 NFL MVP, the Packers as a franchise have now won nine MVPs since the advent of the Associated Press award in 1957.

But which of the nine was the best season? Who's the MVP of the MVPs? has been letting the fans choose via a weekly series that began with the three Lombardi-era MVPs, included Brett Favre’s three honors, and continued with a vote on Rodgers’ three.

Now the three winners are pitted against one another for a final vote.

So here are the last choices standing for the best MVP season in Packers history: Bart Starr in 1966, Brett Favre in 1996, and Aaron Rodgers in 2011.

A rundown of the three follows. All statistics are regular season only. Vote for your favorite in the poll at the bottom.

1966 – Bart Starr

Starting every game except the regular-season finale and quarterbacking the Packers to the eventual title in the inaugural Super Bowl, Starr completed 156-of-251 passes for 2,257 yards with 14 touchdowns and just three interceptions. He added two rushing TDs, with 104 yards on 21 attempts.

Starr led the league in completion percentage (62.2), yards per attempt (9.0), interception percentage (1.2) and passer rating (105.0). In the latter two categories, he set single-season franchise records that stood for more than 40 years each until broken by Aaron Rodgers.

Over the season, Starr completed less than 54 percent of his passes in a game only twice, posted a passer rating of 130-plus four times, and didn't throw an interception after mid-October (until getting picked off in Super Bowl I).

1996 – Brett Favre

Favre led the NFL in TD passes with 39, which became his career best. He was 325-of-543 (59.9%) for 3,899 yards with 13 interceptions, matching his INT total from the previous year. His passer rating was 95.8.

He led the Packers to a 13-3 record, including two separate five-game winning streaks sandwiched around back-to-back losses at Kansas City and Dallas in mid-November.

Favre started the year with a superb outing at Tampa Bay, completing 20-of-27 for 247 yards with four TDs for a 141.5 passer rating, a season best, making him a candidate to defend his 1995 MVP honor right from the get-go. The Packers scored 34, 39 and 42 points in their first three games.

The opener was the first of five games that year with four TD passes, and he finished the regular season by posting a 132.6 passer rating (15-of-23, 202 yards, three TDs) in a rout of Minnesota to clinch the NFC's No. 1 playoff seed. Green Bay went on to win Super Bowl XXXI.

2011 – Aaron Rodgers

Coming off winning the Super Bowl MVP the previous February, Rodgers had what only can be described as a monster season. The big number was his 122.5 passer rating, which set an NFL single-season record, topping Peyton Manning's previous mark of 121.4 from 2004.

He also threw for a career-high and franchise-record 4,634 passing yards in just 15 games, as Rodgers sat out the regular-season finale with the Packers already having clinched the NFC's No. 1 seed for the playoffs with a 14-1 record prior to Week 17.

It marked the only time in his career Rodgers has averaged more than 300 passing yards per game for an entire season (309.5), and his 68.3% completion rate (343-of-502) and 45 TD passes both stood as career highs and franchise records until this past season. He threw just six interceptions.

On the season, Rodgers led the Packers to 560 points, which broke the previous franchise record at the time by 99 points (461 in 2009). He threw for four or more TD passes five times and even had two rushing TDs in a game. His passer rating was 106 or better in 13 of 15 games, and was north of 130 six times, including three straight games at one stretch.

Related Content