Skip to main content

David Bakhtiari named to PFWA's 2018 All-NFL team

Packers LT keeps piling up the honors


GREEN BAY – Recognition as the best in the game continues to come Packers left tackle David Bakhtiari's way.

The Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA) has named Bakhtiari to its 2018 All-NFL team for the first time.

Bakhtiari, a first-team All-Pro selection by The Associated Press this past season and a second-team All-Pro pick in both 2016 and 2017, is joined on the PFWA All-NFL team at tackle by Kansas City's Mitchell Schwartz.

Like the AP All-Pro team, the PFWA All-NFL team chooses in effect a starting lineup, honoring the top player at each position. Bakhtiari was voted the top left tackle and Schwartz is the right tackle. He's one of 13 players among the 28 total honored by the PFWA to be first-time selections.

Bakhtiari started all 16 regular-season games this past year, the fourth time in his six NFL seasons he's accomplished that. He has missed just six starts total since joining the Packers as a fourth-round draft pick out of Colorado in 2013.

The irony with regard to the AP and PFWA honors Bakhtiari has received is he's yet to be voted to the Pro Bowl on the initial balloting. This year, Bakhtiari is an alternate for the third straight time. He did participate in his first Pro Bowl following the 2016 season as an injury replacement.

In conjunction with being named All-NFL, Bakhtiari is also on the PFWA's All-NFC team for 2018. He's the first Packers offensive lineman to receive All-NFL honors since guard Josh Sitton in 2014.

2018 PFWA All-NFL team

Offense QB: Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City
RB: Ezekiel Elliott, Dallas; Todd Gurley, L.A. Rams
WR: DeAndre Hopkins, Houston; Julio Jones, Atlanta; Michael Thomas, New Orleans (tie)
TE: Travis Kelce, Kansas City
C: Jason Kelce, Philadelphia
G: Zack Martin, Dallas; Quenton Nelson, Indianapolis
T: David Bakhtiari, Green Bay; Mitchell Schwartz, Kansas City

Defense DE: Danielle Hunter, Minnesota; J.J. Watt, Houston
DT: Fletcher Cox, Philadelphia; Aaron Donald, L.A. Rams
OLB: Khalil Mack, Chicago; Von Miller, Denver
MLB: Bobby Wagner, Seattle
CB: Kyle Fuller, Chicago; Stephon Gilmore, New England
S: Eddie Jackson, Chicago; Derwin James, L.A. Chargers

Special teams PK: Justin Tucker, Baltimore
P: Michael Dickson, Seattle
KR: Andre Roberts, N.Y. Jets
PR: Tarik Cohen, Chicago
ST: Adrian Phillips, L.A. Chargers

Related Content