Skip to main content

Kenny Clark, Rasul Douglas honored with 2022 Stand-Up Guy Award

Clark is now one of three Packers who have won the award multiple times

DL Kenny Clark and CB Rasul Douglas
DL Kenny Clark and CB Rasul Douglas

GREEN BAY – Packers defensive lineman Kenny Clark and cornerback Rasul Douglas have been selected as the 2022 Tom Mulhern Stand-Up Guy Award recipients, as voted on by the Green Bay chapter of the Professional Football Writers of America.

The annual award is presented to the Packers players who have best helped reporters covering the team do their jobs effectively. Other current Packers to have won the award include quarterback Aaron Rodgers, kicker Mason Crosby and left tackle David Bakhtiari.

Clark, who was previously honored with the award in 2018, is one of three Packers to be recognized on multiple occasions, joining cornerback Tramon Williams (twice) and receiver Davante Adams (three).

"Anytime you're in the same realm as those guys, it's great," Clark said. "I'm super appreciative for the award. I respect everybody's work. Anytime I got a chance to talk, and you guys have a question, I'm going to answer it."

Douglas joined the Packers midway through the 2021 season and didn't have the opportunity to address the Green Bay media corps in the locker room until this past offseason due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

A naturally outgoing individual, Douglas said he felt even more comfortable speaking with the Green Bay media based on positive conversations with veterans on the team shortly after his arrival.

"It's just been natural since I've been here with you guys," said Douglas, who has 137 tackles, 26 passes defensed and nine interceptions in 28 regular-season games with the Packers.

"I think that's the biggest thing for me is I respect everyone's work. I respect you guys' work. I understand y'all have a job to do. I think it's different. You guys don't try to attack anybody. You don't try to make stories or try to cause drama here. You ask great questions and talk to us."

The first time Clark was honored came during a challenging 2018 season in which the Packers finished 6-9-1. Through the team's wins and losses over the years, the Green Bay media representatives have commended the two-time Pro Bowl defensive lineman for always being available during the week and after games.

A two-time team captain, Clark knows he isn't just talking to media and fans during interviews – he's also addressing the locker room.

"We all listen to the interviews, or you might hear a snippet here or there," Clark said. "Whatever you say, it has potential to reach everybody on the team. You definitely have to take that as an opportunity."

The Stand-Up Guy Award is named after the late Tom Mulhern, a former Packers and Wisconsin Badgers beat writer for the Wisconsin State Journal and Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel who passed away at age 56 in October 2014.

Tom Mulhern Stand-Up Guy recipients

  • 2014: Jordy Nelson, Tramon Williams
  • 2015: No award given
  • 2016: Micah Hyde, T.J. Lang
  • 2017: Davante Adams, David Bakhtiari
  • 2018: Kenny Clark
  • 2019: Bryan Bulaga, Mason Crosby, Tramon Williams (2)
  • 2020: Davante Adams (2), Aaron Rodgers
  • 2021: Davante Adams (3)
  • 2022: Kenny Clark (2), Rasul Douglas

Related Content