Packers elect seven team captains for 2021 season

Aaron Rodgers voted a team captain for 11th time in his NFL career

2021 Packers Captains
2021 team captains

GREEN BAY – The Packers have elected seven captains for the 2021 season after a team-wide vote earlier this week.

Quarterback Aaron Rodgers, receiver Davante Adams and tight end Marcedes Lewis captain the offense, while safety Adrian Amos, defensive lineman Kenny Clark and cornerback Jaire Alexander will represent the defense.

Veteran kicker Mason Crosby will serve as the sole captain on special teams.

According to Head Coach Matt LaFleur, the Packers had 27 different players receive at least one vote and 10 individuals who received at least 10.

"That's incredible you have that many guys who are in consideration. I think that's pretty rare," said LaFleur before practice on Thursday. "We are a pretty veteran team, but even some of our young guys you can tell are going to become great leaders, that is awesome to be a part of."

For Rodgers, this is the 11th time he has been chosen a captain by his Packers teammates – all eight playoff appearances under Mike McCarthy and in each of Matt LaFleur's three seasons as head coach.

Crosby has been voted a team captain eight times (2010-11, '13, '15-16, '19-21). Like Rodgers and Crosby, Lewis will wear a gold "C" patch after previously being voted a team captain five times with the Jacksonville Jaguars (2011, '13-15 and '17).

It's the first time Adams, Amos, Clark and Alexander have been selected as permanent team captains. Their "C" patches will have a white letter with one gold star.

Related Content


Action Needed: Update your Packers Mobile App!

Fans attending any games during the 2023 season should update their Packers mobile app due to important upgrades and enhancements.