Skip to main content

Packers RB Aaron Jones named finalist for 2022 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Winner will be announced as part of NFL Honors

RB Aaron Jones
RB Aaron Jones

GREEN BAY – Packers running back Aaron Jones is one of eight finalists for the 2022 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award.

The award, created in 2014 and named after the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer Art Rooney Sr., recognizes players who best demonstrate the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community – Warrick Dunn, 2014 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award recipient Larry Fitzgerald, Pro Football Hall of Famer Curtis Martin and Leonard Wheeler – selected eight finalists (four in the AFC and four in the NFC).

Jones and the seven other finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players vote later this month. From the eight finalists, each team's players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player.

The winner will be announced as part of NFL Honors. He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice.

Jones has been the Packers' nominee for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award the past two seasons and also was nominated for the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award last season. He's been an active participant in the Green Bay community since being drafted in the fifth round out of the University of Texas-El Paso in 2017.

In partnership with his twin brother Alvin, Jones launched the A&A All the Way Foundation last year. The nonprofit organization is dedicated to making an impact in the lives of children through charitable giving and action, and it executes events that inspire, educate and promote unity and diversity across multiple communities.

Former Packers defensive back Charles Woodson is one of eight former recipients of the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award. Woodson was honored as a member of the Oakland Raiders in 2015.

Related Content