Aaron Rodgers nominated for 2020 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Eight finalists will be selected later this month

QB Aaron Rodgers

GREEN BAY – Quarterback Aaron Rodgers is the Packers' nominee for the 2020 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award.

The award was created in 2014 in honor of the Pro Football Hall of Famer and late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Art Rooney, Sr. It recognizes players who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

Rodgers is in his 16th NFL season and 13th as the Packers' starting quarterback. During last Sunday's 41-25 win over Chicago, Rodgers became just the 11th player in NFL history to eclipse 50,000 career passing yards.

Each of the league's 32 teams gets one nominee, and from that group, eight finalists (four from each conference) are chosen by a panel of former players. The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot when players cast their votes on Friday, Dec. 18.

Each team's players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner, but a team cannot vote for its own player. The winner will be announced as part of NFL Honors. He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice.

Previous Packers nominees for the award include cornerback Tramon Williams (2018-19), safety Morgan Burnett (2017), linebacker Julius Peppers (2015-16) and Jordy Nelson (2014). Former Packers defensive back Charles Woodson won the award as a member of the Oakland Raiders in 2015.

Related Content


Action Needed: Update your Packers Mobile App!

Fans attending any games during the 2023 season should update their Packers mobile app due to important upgrades and enhancements.