Billy Turner named Packers' Ed Block Courage Award winner for 2020

Veteran offensive lineman in the running for league-wide honor being awarded Saturday

G/T Billy Turner

GREEN BAY – Packers offensive lineman Billy Turner is the team's recipient of the annual Ed Block Courage Award for the 2020 season.

Every year, each NFL team votes for the player it feels best exemplifies commitments to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. A league-wide winner of the Ed Block Courage Award is then selected from the 32 team honorees, with this year's winner being chosen Saturday, April 24, in a virtual ceremony.

The award is named for Ed Block, the head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts from 1954-77 who earned a Purple Heart under General George S. Patton in World War II.

Turner joined the Packers as a free agent in 2019 and has become an integral piece on a Green Bay offensive line that has dealt with numerous injuries over the last two seasons.

He's also been a vocal advocate for social justice issues and an active participant in several community efforts, including "The Irie Project," an artistic fashion initiative he founded in partnership with a fashion designer, art teacher, and elementary school students.

Turner has missed just two games as a member of the Packers. Last season he started games at three different positions – six at right tackle, four at right guard and four at left tackle. He also started both playoff games at left tackle. In 2019, he started every game at right guard.

Recent team winners of the Ed Block Courage Award for the Packers include kicker Mason Crosby in 2019 and quarterback Aaron Rodgers in 2018.

Take a look at photos of Green Bay Packers G/T Billy Turner from the 2020 season.

Related Content


Action Needed: Update your Packers Mobile App!

Fans attending any games during the 2023 season should update their Packers mobile app due to important upgrades and enhancements.