Skip to main content

Packers RB Aaron Jones nominated for 2023 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

It’s Jones’ third consecutive nomination; eight finalists will be selected next month


GREEN BAY – For the third consecutive year, running back Aaron Jones is the Packers' nominee for the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award.

The seventh-year veteran was one of eight finalists for last year's award, which was won by defensive lineman Calais Campbell.

The award, created in 2014 and named after the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer Art Rooney Sr., recognizes players who best demonstrate the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community — Warrick Dunn, 2014 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award recipient Larry Fitzgerald, Pro Football Hall of Famer Curtis Martin and Leonard Wheeler — will select eight finalists (four in the AFC and four in the NFC) from the 32 nominees.

The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players vote in December. The winner will be announced as part of NFL Honors.

The winner of the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award is determined by a vote of current NFL players. From the eight finalists, each team's players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player.

Jones, a two-time nominee for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award, has been an active participant in the Green Bay community since being drafted in the fifth round out of the University of Texas-El Paso in 2017.

In partnership with his twin brother Alvin, Jones launched the A&A All the Way Foundation last year. The nonprofit organization is dedicated to making an impact in the lives of children through charitable giving and action, and it executes events that inspire, educate, and promote unity and diversity across multiple communities.

Former Packers defensive back Charles Woodson is one of nine former recipients of the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award. Woodson was honored as a member of the Oakland Raiders in 2015.

Related Content